What is YOUR favorite myth?

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/%5D

Hey guys, I know I posted earlier this week already, but I just re-read last year’s NaNo-Novel “Apollo and Daphne” (yes, it could have been brought on by people searching for Apollo and Daphne as part of their classics homework and being sent to this blog), and I always thought I would do a whole series of these retold Myths. But I don’t know what other myths to do. Orpheus and Eurydice, of course, since it is my favorite. Maybe Persephone, because I can see making a storyline out of a girl getting all wrapped up with some older man and her mother being pissed.

What do you think? What are your favorite myths? Favorite gods? Do you prefer some other pantheon to that of the Greeks? (I could make this into a whole world of different myths – Egyptian, Norse, ect) I’m really interested to hear what others think, because I think this could be really fun. And I’m always interested in learning new myths!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “What is YOUR favorite myth?”

  1. Eurydice and Orpheus is MY favorite TOO! 😀

    I’m also fond of Alcyone and Ceyx, which is lesser known and has less conflict… but Alcyone is a familiar lady… if’n ya know what I mean… winkwink

  2. It’s less a myth and more the invention of Aeschylus, but I’ve always been a little bit obsessed with the Oresteia series of plays, which I think would make a really interesting modern retelling.

  3. The more I think about writing Persephone the more I like the idea. Hades would make an awesome college-aged man just waiting to seduce high school girls who wander onto his campus.

    Leda and the swan may be more difficult to adapt, since my Zeus is the Governor of Washington State and I think he’d get kicked out of office for hooking up with a high school girl while dressed as a swan 😉 Although it could be about her children….

Leave a Reply

