Happy Mother’s Day!

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/]

Today, instead of a sticky I have a picture of a shirt I made quite a few years ago, and have worn so many times that I can’t wear it out in public anymore. It’s graying, the little logo on the bottom is hard to read, and it’s got a hole in the shoulder. It’s been my comfort blanket on days that I knew would be bad and my victory cry when I hit Fie Eoin landmarks. It’s also one-of-a-kind, and everyone asks what it’s from (my favorite guess so far: it was from a family reunion, so all the distant relatives would know I was Aleda’s daughter :P)

In reality, the Daughters of Aleda are the priestesses of the Seven Tribes. I also had plans to make one that says “Warrior of Eoin” but I thought that might cause some peculiar questions if I wore it out. Or make people give me a wide berth 😉 In any case, all of the people of the Seven Tribes and the Faye Lands are “children of Aleda” since she is the Mother Goddess. But as I’m learning – and you along with me – Aleda was a real person. A mother. She worshiped her own Mother Goddess, Awena. She was scared and made mistakes and did whatever she could to save her children. She was deified because of it, but I think at some point all little kids think their mother is a goddess. I know I did. She knew everything, she could kiss away hurts, and when you made her proud it felt like the whole world was yours.

To the mothers out there, deified or not, thank you for being the first goddess any of us will ever know 🙂 Today I’m going to wear a shirt that says “Daughter of Jan”.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

8 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!”

    1. I thought of putting them up for sale, but I lost the original graphic in the last computer crash and Cafepress is way too expensive now. Maybe if enough people like Aleda’s Story I’ll make a new graphic and put them on Zazzle 🙂

  1. How sweet. When I was young, I told people I lived in a mansion. I wasn’t intentionally lying, I honestly that was true. I still love the (modest) house I grew up in, where my parents live to this day. 🙂

  2. Boob shot! Haha.
    FINALLY catching up on your blog although it is like a month later. Miss you dear! Can’t wait to read more (as always)!

    1. haha! Well, that is one thing mother’s all have in common: Boobs. (I almost wrote “books” – I guess we all know I’m a writer now… or a horrible speller…. or drunk) ;P

      Miss you too! J is taking a trip home this week, so I figure later in the year it will be my turn to take a trip somewhere without him! When it stops raining and tornadoing I’ll head your way 😉

Leave a Reply

