The Dark Tower

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/]

There’s this author out there, you may have heard of him. His name is Stephen King. Ring any bells? Yeah, I thought you might know of him.

I am terrified of ghosts, and I don’t like gore, and The Shining is probably the most boring movie I have ever watched. But I am obsessed with the Dark Tower series. Like, if Cuthbert knocked on my door and asked me to leave my husband and run away with him I wouldn’t even think twice. We’d be riding off into the sunset on Glue Boy, talking to that bird skull that he liked to wear around his neck. It probably wouldn’t last long, because I don’t think he bathed much, but it would be a fun affair while he smelled nice.

In fact, this is Cuthbert. She turned out to be a girl, got it on with Alain, and ate her babies in true Stephen King fashion. I also had a Jake (whose untimely death while I was at a pony convention ended the mouse infatuation) and a Ka.

And you thought the pony obsession was weird, didn’t you?

I started a DT role-playing game because I was so obsessed I didn’t want the seven (huge) books to end. I made my finest Mary Sue out of a female gunslinger who fell in love with… you guessed it… Cuthbert. I wrote so much DT fanfiction that it eventually morphed into Lane’s Girl and the Rebecca Stories (yeah, you know who Lane is now, don’t you?).

I still say Thanke- Sai. Every Day. And I believe in other worlds. Don’t you?

Have you read the Dark Tower series? What book was your favorite? And if you haven’t, which Stephen King book is your favorite? And if you have ready any of his books, why not? Go now!

Go now, there are other worlds than these.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

14 thoughts on “The Dark Tower”

  1. I’m reading the first book of the Dark Tower series. I’m still waiting for it to get good, to tell the truth. I mean, it’s okay so far but. . . Yeah. :p

    1. The first book was not my favorite (except for Jake <3) but when the ka-tet starts forming in Book Two it gets really good. Book Four (Wizard and Glass) is my absolute favorite (if you've seen the comics they are based on Book Four).

      SK definitely has a habit of starting things slowly and then ramping up.

  2. I haven’t read those but I am a Stephen King fan….hmm…must check them out now! Dangitall my TBR list is FAR TOO BIG

    1. This series certainly will not help the size of your TBR pile 🙂 Along with the seven books in the series you have to read The Stand, IT, Insomnia, Salem’s Lot, and Eyes of the Dragon. Well, you don’t HAVE to – I haven’t read IT yet, and EotD was awful so I stopped a chapter in – but characters from The Stand, Insomnia and Salem’s Lot all make appearances in the series 🙂

  3. I’d have to say my favorite Stephen King fiction is Under the Dome because it’s the only fiction I’ve read by him. I’ve seen plenty of films based on his books and usually like those. There are several King books in my home library, but I haven’t gotten around to reading any of them yet. I need to get busy I guess.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    1. I read the beginning of Under the Dome, but I haven’t had a chance to finish it yet. I promised my hubby I would read IT this summer as well, because he’ll be home and things like IT creep me out too much to read when he’s traveling! 😛

  4. I haven’t read a Stephen King book for over a decade. But ‘It’ scared the pants off me. Well, the first half did. The second half seemed to just go silly and lost believability for me. Interestingly, I’ve recently added a King book to my to-read list – Firestarter, which is one of his earlier works. From what I remember of the movie (which I watched through my bedroom door key hole at 10 yrs old), there are some similarities between it and the ideas percolating in the back of my mind for my next WiP!

Leave a Reply

