My trip to Fie Eoin

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false http://stickynotestories.wordpress.com/]

I lied on the last post – I didn’t actually finish my edits yet. But I’m working steadily on doing just that, so I’m no longer on hiatus. Especially since I re-charged my batteries this weekend in the place that inspired Fie Eoin: Logan, Utah.

Tony Grove Lake

The little happy valley has made an appearance in two of my worlds – Fie Eoin and After Ancient. But since I’ve been so deep into FE edits lately I barely thought of AA. And can I tell you how strange it is to be a Lowcountry resident, living in the mountains in my head for two months straight, and then step off that plane to see mountains? I don’t think I stopped smiling any time that I could see them. It was like walking into my book. Only, you know, with planes and cars and houses instead of tents.

Proof of my barefoot hike!

We took two hikes up in the mountains, the first at Tony Grove Lake 8,000 ft above sea level (and now I want to put a lake in Fie Eoin, although there has never been one before), and the other in Green Canyon where I hiked barefoot until we reached broken glass. Yes, folks, I hiked up and down a mountain in bare feet. I felt like a warrior!

Of course, the whole point of the trip was to visit with family, and I saw my parents for the first time since April, my sister for the first time since November, and the rest of my family for the first time in four years. My baby cousins are all grown up (and didn’t remember me). I have new baby cousins that I’ve never met before! I was beat up by a two year old and retaliated by leaving her in a swing (on accident – my older baby cousins were pushing her).

Suprisingly, I did this without a margarita - it was COLD!

I went out to dinner with Angela Perry and ordered what may have been the first margarita in the history of Utah 😉 I should have taken a photo of that memorable event, but we were having so much fun I forgot to get my camera out of my purse.

And the entire time I looked for the perfect setting for events in my novel. Walls for Kaye to climb when she’s being chased by Obsidians, river rocks for Kindra to carve with her father’s mark, tree-lines and fields and little openings deep in the woods where one could hide. I hung my camera out the car window while we drove and snapped photo after photo of mountainside.

And now that I’m home from lovely, cool, dry Fie Eoin to hot, humid, smelly Gaerlom it’s time to get writing again. Time to finish this book once and for all.

Do you base your stories on places you have been in real life? What place do you go to immerse yourself in your story’s world?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

18 thoughts on “My trip to Fie Eoin”

    1. Hehehe, you definitely have been to places in your novel before 😉 No fair, setting your novel in your hometown!

      Very cool link – maybe someday they’ll be posting photos of Logan and the Oregon Coast on there for Fie Eoin 😉

  1. Oh man, this makes me so excited! My WIP Guardians is set in the mountains too. I’ve been loosing momentum on this one but next week am traveling to Colorado and could not be more excited to actually be in real mountains. I have a feeling inspiration will come. Thanks for getting me even more pumped for this 😉

    1. Even though I write fantasy I always try to make it as close to real places as possible. The Oregon Coast (Lincoln City area) is where the second part of Fie Eoin takes place – lush, marshy, and right on the ocean. It was amazing to visit that part of the country and really get a sense of what it would be like 🙂

      I definitely recommend it!

  2. So far, yes, I do use places I know as the settings in my novel. My next novel attempt (the story in my head I’m ignoring) will be interesting, as the setting is definitely not like any place I know here. Maybe I need to go on a trip? 🙂

    Love the pictures!

  3. Many of Tangled’s settings are based on real places or are indeed the real places themselves. I love reading books set in places I’ve been or settings that remind me of places I’ve been. Best of luck finishing those edits! 🙂

    1. Thank you Cally! I have to say, I’m always pleasantly surprised when I find out I know a setting in a book too. Especially if it’s a setting that most other people don’t know about (like the UP of Michigan, which is where The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter takes place :P)

      1. Hey thanks! I had a great time too 🙂 And (I hope) didn’t share the flu.

        Come visit anytime, Sophia! Sadly, I won’t be visiting Becka anytime soon. She has giant colorful spiders.

        1. No flu here! Thank gods, I would never get this re-write done if I had the flu.

          The spiders are only around during the ungodly hot months when you wouldn’t want to come visit anyways! Come in April – it’s gorgeous here in April 🙂

Leave a Reply

