Write Campaign Challenge #1

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/]

Today we’re veering away from the normal schedule (heck, this whole week is off-schedule due to the Holiday) and leaving Fie Eoin for a short trip to the Other Worlds of the Rebecca Stories. This week is the first challenge for the Writer’s Platform-Building Campaign and it’s a doozy! The rules are:

Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. Begin the story with the words, “The door swung open” These four words will be included in the word count. If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), use the same beginning words and end with the words: “the door swung shut.” (also included in the word count). For those who want an even greater challenge, make your story 200 words EXACTLY!

Challenge accepted! If you are following me on Google+ (click on the G+ icon on the right sidebar) you’ll see that I wrote two different scenes for this challenge – a death and destruction version and a warm fuzzies version. Both satisfied all three caveats of the challenge, but I thought the death and destruction scene was a little stronger. So I give to you my #writecampaign challenge entry!

Rebecca’s Revenge

The door swung open and Rebecca slipped inside. Veriss snored, reeking of alcohol and the perfume of a whore long gone. Rebecca put the back of her hand to her nose and crept forward.

Lane’s guns were slung low over her skirt. She grabbed one by the stock and smashed the handle into the side of Veriss’ jaw. He screamed and fell off the bed as he woke, hand going to his broken jaw. His eyes found her in the dark and fear flashed in them before his anger took over.

“It’s my turn,” Rebecca shivered in anticipation. “It’s my turn to have the power. It’s my turn to break you. And at the end I will give you what you want most; the black hand of death to carry you to the clearing.”

He backed away, holding his jaw, and managed to get out one mangled word. “Traitor.”

“No,” she growled. “You are the traitor. You have betrayed me and my father. You are the one who started this and now I will finish it.”

Rebecca walked to the bedroom door and pulled out Lane’s dagger as she turned back to Veriss, grinning. Behind her the door swung shut.

—–

If you want to read a bit more about Rebecca, Lane and Veriss (and get a sense of what it was that Veriss did to Rebecca) check out Friday’s post: Rebecca’s Story

Don’t forget to read the other entries in the Challenge and vote for your favorite! (I’m #248 if you would like to vote for me)

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

84 thoughts on “Write Campaign Challenge #1”

    1. Oh, I know exactly what happens. She beats him until he begs for death, and then she kills him >:) Then she gets her head chopped off for killing the head councilman of the city, but it was totally worth it to her 😉

  1. Powerful stuff! Since I’ve read bits and pieces from Rebecca and Lane’s story, I know how much Veriss deserves this. But even with no background you can feel Rebecca’s anger seething off the page, and you’ve given just enough hints to know it’s justified. Great work!

  2. Well, hell. She’s got some control issues. 🙂 Seriously, this was cool. I like a strong woman character and I really like the element of “it’s my turn now.” The characters were well-thought out (although there was one that confused me. Lane? dead? asleep?)

    1. Lane’s asleep in a different room. Rebecca used him to get his guns and dagger so she could kill Veriss (Veriss stole her guns and dagger, because he’s too smart to let her run around with weapons :P)

      Glad you liked it 😀

  3. Liked this entry a lot. Thanks for visiting my blog, and greetings from a fellow campaigner!

    Would like to invite you (and your readers) to take a look at The Rule of Three Blogfest —a month-long extravaganza in the fictional town of Renaissance this October, with some great prizes, comment love, and of course, a lot of exposure and constructive feedback for your writing.

    I can see Rebecca and Veriss in the town of Renaissance, especially since the blogfest requires escalating conflict! Hope to see you there 🙂

    1. I actually saw that blogfest yesterday and started thinking about what I could do for it. Rebecca and Lane would be perfect characters, and I think adding Veriss into the mix just might work 🙂

  4. LOVE this! While I do like warm fuzzies, I have a soft spot in my heart for death and destruction, which this more than fulfilled. Great job!

  5. Wow. I loved your flash piece! Excellent job. I still have to start mine. This week has been crazy and full of stress, but I have some down time tonight so hopefully I can get my butt in gear. 😀

  6. I loved this, but had one question: who is Lane and why was their a knife in his bedroom door. You explained that to someone else, so I’m good. I love strong women characters. Your’s certainly has the verve to kick ass.

  7. Ain’t retribution grand! A fine story, Becca. Clear, strong, satisfying.

    I’m a retired orbit analyst, NASA and NOAA. Planet-building and working on my first novel. Been following you on Twitter for a while. Maybe we should talk.

Leave a Reply

