Allow me to introduce myself

[tweetmeme source=”stickynotestory” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/]

Jaime McHenry over at Faeries are Real put up an introduction post for the Campaign with links to old posts relevant to who he was as a writer, and I thought that was such a great idea that I’m stealing it from him 🙂

Many of you might know me as the girl who is writing the unpronounceable book, Fie Eoin (E-own), which is now known as The Nameless Warrior, or perhaps you found me through my My Little Pony obsession. Of course, you could be a fan of The Dark Tower series, writing-based Role Playing, or WoW. Maybe you like X-men, even though I haven’t posted about it yet. Or you could be a Tea Tree Oil worshiper, which I also haven’t posted about yet, although it probably rivals my MLP obsession (it is my Windex). Or maybe you don’t know me at all.

In that case, let me introduce myself 🙂 I’m Becka – I’m a nuclear chemist in Charleston, SC and I write whenever I can find a spare moment. I can write 335 words on a single 3×3 sticky note, and since I’m allowed to carry sticky notes at work that’s how I write most of my novels. See all those names just below the banner? Those are my books. None of them published yet – most of them haven’t gone beyond the rough draft stage during NaNoWriMo. I’m working on Fie Eoin (New Adult Fantasy) first, and then I’ll be changing gears to work on Apollo and Daphne, a contemporary YA re-telling of the Apollo and Daphne myth.

I have a muse named Ellison, and my characters live in a Cafe in my head. When editing I’m a big fan of Occam’s Razor. And I always, ALWAYS, fight for my story, because no one else will.

I’ve also been tagged twice in the past week by fellow Campaigners Leah and C. Lee! So to satisfy the “facts about me” section of the rules here we go, ten things about me:

1. I love to talk about myself (duh, I have a blog) but when it comes to these facts about me I always draw blanks.

2. I’m slightly ambidextrous, which is convenient when I’ve broken my right collarbone and write all my stories by hand.

3. I broke that collarbone just after my 21st birthday when I came home from the bar and fell off hubby’s shoulders (he was still my boyfriend at the time). Needless to say, he’s not allowed to pick me up anymore 😉

4. I am not afraid of heights, but hubby is. That’s why I was on his shoulders, and he wasn’t on mine 😉 (also, I can’t pick him up :P). I love going across giant ravines on rope bridges and pretending I’m a bird. Hubs has to walk across them as quickly as possible or he hyperventilates.

5. When I was little I used to pretend to be a cheetah. I scraped holes in all my pants walking around on all fours hissing at people.

6. If you offered me a bowl of fruit or a bowl of ice cream I would take the fruit. I would take fruit over any dessert, although I dreamed of cookies last night…

7. I used to be obsessed with twins. I always wanted to have twins growing up, and in High School I had a friend whose name was almost the same as mine, so we became “twins”. That friend was a boy. We even got some of the teachers to believe us 🙂

8. Laundry is my absolute least favorite chore! I hate folding clothes. With a passion. I usually let them sit in the basket until hubs gets mad and makes me do it.

9. I’m a total foodie, but I can’t cook. I burned rice last week (seriously – how easy is rice?) but I can make quiche (and that’s about the only thing I can make). And yet I’m a chemist. Fear for my co-workers, world.

10. I will go to Apollo’s Temple at Delphi before I die. I have made this a life goal.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

33 thoughts on “Allow me to introduce myself”

    1. We can carry notebooks around, but they can’t leave the lab (we touch them with our gloves – I wouldn’t want to take them home!). I’ve become very good at not losing stickies 🙂

    1. Definitly steal away! I’d love to hear your ten things, as well as see the posts that are important to you 🙂 I’m glad I was able to meet you too – you’ve been a real light in a couple of bleak weeks 🙂

  1. Hi Rebecca!
    Nice post, I think it’s great to do one of these since it helps me to get to know you better! I’ll be sure to post something like this soon on my blog too :).
    And with number 4, we’re the same. I love tall rollercoasters and the likes, but hubs hates anything related with heights xD.

    1. Definitely post one also! It’s a wonderful quick way to get to know all the new Campaigners 🙂

      Strangely enough hubs can do rollercoasters. I think it’s cause he’s strapped in and moving so fast he doesn’t have time to worry about how high he is 😛

    1. Definitely copy me! It will help everyone to get to know you better 🙂

      Glad I’m not the only one who was obsessed ^_^ And yes, falling from a height of 6’3″ is VERY painful. I’m kind of glad I was drunk ;P

  2. Wow, crazy story about how you broke your collar bone! And I’m surprised about the cooking bit too. I’ve often heard that cooking is basically chemistry. Hm. And yay, I love fruit too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    1. Cooking is basically chemistry, and I’ve always hated chemistry (go figure :P). Plus, after a day of working in the lab cooking things on hot plates the last thing I want to do is come home and cook things on hot plates 😉 Kinda like when I worked in the kennel and then had to come home and scoop out the catbox 😉

    1. #10 basically IS my bucket list. I can die happy knowing I haven’t done a lot of things, but I MUST go to that Temple before my death. Apollo is my patron god, after all 🙂

      Thanks for the award! I’ll go check it out right now!

  3. 335 words on a sticky note. Impressive. Subversive. But as a chemist you’re probably used to taking a lot of college class notes. I’m sure you didn’t realize what a survival skill it would turn out to be for creative writing.

    1. I did take a LOT of notes in school 🙂 I have very neat handwriting now! Although writing scientific papers is nothing like writing a novel – I had to re-learn how to write correctly ;P

  4. This is the most lovely Intro I’ve ever read! Well done, you rock, girl! 🙂

    Keep penning, keep inspiring! I could see a bright future lies before you.. 🙂

    Have a lovely day!

    Subhan Zein

  5. Hi Rebecca, loved your introduction! I’m so grateful we met through Tameri’s blog today – thank you for visiting me, and I’m following you … can’t get in to read more of your WIP because I’m not a member of that site, so I guess I’ll just have to wait with the rest of the world, lol. And I LOVE Greek Mythology! ~ Julie 🙂

  6. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted
    to say fantastic blog!

  7. Your dosage for Azolol 5 mg is technology administered as soon as possible with
    these homeopathic little tablets. Gadgets are the IBM
    ThinkPad, Dell streak, Dell, Samsung has introduced several basic models and tablets have.

    Because of the Archos 9 is one of the past 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

