Custom of the Week: Neytiri

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/09/18/custom-of-the-week-neytiri/]

Today’s custom is super special because not only was the blue kitty version of Avatar (as opposed to the blue diamond version we did a few weeks back) a biologist’s dream movie (plot? Who cares about plot – it was PRETTY) but today’s customizer is also an author! And she’s helping me put on a contest for your very own custom pony! But first, take a look at this beauty she made.

Neytiri, by Kalavista

The eyes are so cool looking on this one, as well as the stripes. Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a custom pony based on YOUR character?

Oh, it would? Then allow me (and Kalavista) to announce the Custom Pony Contest!

The Rules:

-either draw your own pony or use a template or the pony creator to make a pony based on your novel. Choose colors for the body and mane/tail, and a symbol. Ponies can be earthers, unicorns or pegasi (no alicorns/unipegs please).

-all ponies must come from a full-length, original work (no fanfics). Unpublished novels are OK. Feel free to plug your published novel in the post if you are that lucky!

-it can be a pony based on a character, setting, or theme from your novel. (CLARIFICATION: You can make more than one pony, but they must be voted on as a whole, from the same book, and only ONE of those ponies will be customized).

-write up a short description of your pony(s), and a one sentence tag-line for the book.

-post the pony(s) on your blog by Tuesday October 4th (otherwise known as my birthday ;P) and reply here with the link to that post.

-from October 5th through 15th visit the other blogs and vote for your favorite pony!

-winner will be announced on October 16th!

The Prize: The winner (based on popular vote) will have their pony made into a real custom pony by Kalavista, plus receive a copy of her book, The Secret of Shadow!

Restrictions: The custom pony will not have clothes or accessories (no sculpty/clay will be used), so make a representation of the character, rather than a carbon-copy right down to their underwear. No Twice-As-Fancy symbols (symbols that cover the entire body) or sitting poses. Open to US/Canada residents only (you can still play, but only US/C residents can win the prize, sorry!).

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

48 thoughts on “Custom of the Week: Neytiri”

  1. First off, awesome pony. I love it. 😀

    A contest?! Oh my, that is so deliciously tempting. But which book should I do?! I must think on this…but I have to leave for work in five minutes. Ooh. And do I use that template or draw one myself? You’ve gotten me excited!

  2. I’m not sure where I should start here…

    One, we have the same birthday!! That’s super exciting and will make the contest easy to remember.
    Two, I love that pony! Her eyes are amazing.
    And third, I’m starting on this today 😀

    1. I’ve read that article 🙂 It really was an awesome movie for that sort of thing – especially since the Na’vi didn’t look the same as all the other creatures (no double eyes, no gills) so hubs and I think they actually come from a different planet too 😛 Maybe on of the other moons.

  3. Oh my gosh! Am I the *last* person to know that I could actually customize a my little pony?? My characters are extremely ordinary, but how fun to put custom touches to make them unique (though, I’m thinking my “pony” would look a LOT like the battlestar galactica pony from earlier…) 😉
    Thanks for sharing and hosting this contest! ^_^

  4. Since I’m international and can’t win, I may as well do the entire set for my novel (six magical elemental races = six gorgeously coloured ponies). Oh my gosh this is so exciting. I LOVE making ponies. Uh… did I say that out loud?

      1. I’m sorry Amanda! I moved the day up by one but forgot to change the post to reflect that. But like I said, I will save him for the next contest that way you still have a chance to win! 🙂

Leave a Reply

