Happy Autumn!

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/happy-autumn-2/%5D

Autumn actually started on Friday, but it’s hard to tell that it started at all in Charleston. The trees are still green, the air is still muggy and hot, and everyone’s still wearing sundresses and sandals. I plan on going to the beach at least one more time before I put my bathing suits away (yes, I have more than one. I LIVE at the beach during summer!), and while I’ve had my first pumpkin latte of the year I had to get it as a frappuccino.

But I celebrated the equinox on Friday with a harvest feast and the one thing that really makes it feel like autumn to me: the scents of fall.

Mmmmm. You can smell that can’t you? The cinnamon broom whisking all of the negativity out of the house and hanging by the door so it smells delightful every time you open the door. The candle that smells like pumpkin pie, or apple cider, or clove. The oil burner with sandalwood and frankincense. Rosemary and thyme in the kitchen. And best of all? The smell of cooler weather sneaking in at night when the sun’s gone down just a little bit earlier than last night. Take in a deep breath, and let out a happy sigh.

When I start smelling those classic scents of autumn it makes me want to curl up next to the fireplace, notebook and pen in hand, and start writing. Get lost in the woods of Fie Eoin as the leaves change color. Sit on the shore of Loch Ness and pet a kelpie. Go to a football game and snuggle in close with Apollo. Take Mikayla for a horseback ride by the river. Jump off a cliff with Neona.

What’s your favorite scent of fall? Where does it take you when you smell it?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

14 thoughts on “Happy Autumn!”

  1. I love the cinnamon broom. We got one for the first time last year and that thing lasted for three months! I also love the smell of rain. Like you, I want to curl up in a warm blanket and just feel snug and at home. Not to mention feel warm and toasty in a good way, not the “it’s so hot I’m gonna die” way. 😉

    1. I like to buy two, and keep one in my closet (IN the plastic, or it’s too strong) and when the first finally runs out of smell I put the second one up! Then my clothes smell yummy all day 🙂

  2. Wonderful post, Rebecca! I love fall (if it doesn’t rain to much, which does here, in the Pacific NW), the change of seasons, the colorful leaves, fall flowers, pumpkin patch, approaching Halloween…

    My favorite smells for this colorful season would be the cinnamon candles, pumpkin scones and a smell of smoke from the campfires 🙂

  3. This post almost makes me like fall. Almost.

    Living in New England, I do enjoy the colors, but then the leaves fall and there is so much work to be done getting them up before the snow. And then I start thinking about snow, and cold, and the long N.E. Winter ahead, and I wish I lived somewhere with palm trees and warm beaches year round. I do enjoy my fireplaces, though. And warm sweaters. 😀

    1. Wait… you don’t like fall? o.O I can understand not liking winter (I’m from MI originally – lake effect snow is my antagonist!) but fall?!

      Actually, I think moving to someplace where it’s hot for 9 months out of the year instead of snowing for 9 months has helped me appreciate fall MUCH more. Come visit sometime – we have palm trees and beaches! (they aren’t warm in winter, but whatever)

  4. Bring me some of that fall, cinnamon smells and all. Didn’t mean to rhyme, I guess it’s that time. Or not, I’m in Florida’s panhandle. Just stopped by to say hi from the campaign. I’m not a nuclear chemist, but I was a clinical lab scientist. Didn’t like it as much as I love writing. So, are you going to do campaign challenge 2? You have three more days. It would keep you from oscitating to fill in the lacuna between summer and real fall weather.

    1. Yeah, I don’t like chemistry as much as writing either, but gotta pay the bills (and who doesn’t love blowing things up every once in a while?). I probably won’t do the second challenge, but I’m looking forward to the next one!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

