When I grow up…

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/when_i_grow_up/]

I know that from the looks of things the blog has been completely taken over by ponies, so today we’re going to get away from that and go back to Getting to Know You Tuesdays. Over the summer on G+ I’ve been asking a question every Tuesday to get to know you better. But not everyone is as into the G+ thing as me, so I’m going to start posting the questions over here as well.

We’ve talked about favorite scents, concerts, food and drinks, and most recently warrior names. So today let’s try something a little different. What did you want to be when you grew up? Does it match what you are now?

Growing up I always wanted to be either a singer or a marine biologist. In fact, I went to school for fisheries biology and got the chemistry degree because I only needed one more class to do so. If you’re only one class away from something like that, you take it. That one class was analytical chemistry, and what am I now? An analytical chemist 🙂 That’s right – I’m one of those weirdos that actually uses their degree.

What about you? What did you want to be when you grew up?

~~~~~

And because you gotta have a little bit of pony in every post: don’t forget to vote in PonyFest11 for your favorite book-based pony!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

38 thoughts on “When I grow up…”

  1. I wanted to be so many things. Early on I was convinced that I would be a model or an actress, because I was a mini-diva who loved to be the center of attention. Somewhere along the way I became much more introspective, and channeled my love of drama into writing, which was my future career that I listed in my middle school yearbook. Not 100% certain where “sociologist,” my day job, came from, but it’s all good. 😀

  2. I always wanted to be an author, but there were a few moments when I considered being a hairdresser simply because of how much I loved cutting and styling my barbies’ hair.

    I’m still pursuing my wannabe author dreams but have long since abandoned my hairdressing ambitions – I would have been terrible at it!

  3. I wanted to be a veterinarian, before I realized that it wasn’t all cute kittens and puppies all the time, but blood and death. (Thank you, Animal Planet.) I’ve been writing since I could read, but it wasn’t until high school I realized I could do that with my life. The interpreting thing I kinda fell into. 😀

  4. I wanted to be about a million things, but my longest held aspiration was “professional superhero.” That sadly didn’t come to pass, though I live the dream vicariously through the Invincible graphic novels.

    Instead I negotiate software contracts and am a mom, just about the only things not on my lists of things to be–and I love it!

      1. I know you said this with a smile, but you still just made me cry, in a really welcome, really wonderful way. Thank you for that, and for evoking a million moments where Li’l D has gone from scared to smiling just because I was there to protect him. ♥

  5. I guess my first aspiration was to be a vet. Then when I was 12 I watched a cow give birth EEWW! end of that career option. Then I wanted to be a teacher who worked with several handicapped children. I didn’t get my teachers degree but I did get a diploma in Child and Youth Care. I have spent a total of 10 years in that career and then I left in 2007 due to burnout. My overdeveloped sense of perfection is not conducive to good health in human services 😉 Underneath all of that was my writing. I didn’t really think I could ever make a living at it I was just consumed to write. Many volumes later, pushing from friends and family and one writing course have pushed to give it a try.

    1. Oh yes, I did the vet thing for a couple of years too. It’s really warped my sense of humor.

      Good luck doing the writing full-time! I’m not quite brave enough to try that yet 🙂

      1. Did I? 😉 Shhhh.

        As for the ‘author’ part. Yep. Took me long enough, but I finally published my first novel this year. Part 1 of my childhood / lifelong dream accomplished. Part 2 is to keep publishing novels so to that end, I need to keep writing. I hope you keep writing as well…now that all your birthday celebrations are over….right? Or did you decide on a month-long celebration? 🙂

        Have a great day!

        1. Month long seemed a little too long, even for me, so I had a good, restful weekend and called it the end of the celebration. I’m back to work now! Tonight I plan to type up at least one more chapter (they are long) so I can work on editing tomorrow!

  6. I love this question. It’s so much fun to hear what others wanted to be 🙂

    I wanted to be either a jockey (yeah, what can I say? – I was a horse-crazy little girl) or a writer. Everyone humored me until I hit high school (by which time I’d abandoned the desire to be a jockey and just wanted to write), and then I was told becoming a writer would be a “waste of my potential.” My math teacher wanted me to get a math degree. My aunt wanted me to become a teacher. Other people wanted me to become a veterinarian. Etc. Etc.

    I ended up writing anyway 🙂

    1. Good for you! Luckily my parents have always been supportive of my whatever-I-currently-want-to-do 🙂 When I told them I wanted to write instead of be a scientist my mom started loading me up with books “to learn how to write sex scenes”. Which is how Fie Eoin officially stopped being a YA novel 😉

  7. I wanted to be a nurse, just like my mum, and other times a paleontologist, which I seem to recall would entail having little pet dinosaurs. Can’t think why that never happened.

    I ended up as an acoustics and lighting consultant, which wasn’t on the list anywhere. I’m still trying to work out how I ended up with a job in the one science I stopped studying at 14 because I was so terrible at it.

  8. I wanted to be a writer (I wrote my first story at age 9 about my toy animals) and then for years, I was going to be an actor.
    The reading and writing thing has stayed with me all this time and while I’m not a published writer and I should write more (to feed my soul), I’m getting there.
    My day job is in educational publishing so you can see I’ve kept the connection to words!

  9. I always wanted to be a writer, and possibly a teacher. The teacher dream drifted back and forth, but writing was always the ultimate dream. I also wanted to be an archaeologist, which is what I majored in at university. The problem is I’m really scared of bugs and I don’t like roughing it. Some archaeologist I’d be! 😛 At least the archaeology comes in handy for writing haha.

    1. Hehe – that’s one of the reasons I never made it into marine bio: jellyfish give me panic attacks. Not seeing them, mind you, just knowing they are out there. I go to the beach every weekend now but every year the first time I step into the water I have to calm down first and overcome that fear. Also, strangely enough, pelicans scare me 😛

  10. Pelicans are totally scary!

    But to answer your question, the first profession I ever wanted to be was a crocodile farmer. And I wanted to milk the crocodiles like they milk cows. I was not a weird child AT ALL.

    As I grew up, I wanted to be a lawyer for a while, then after a role in the Christmas play in year six, I wanted to be an actor. That lasted until my first semester of university (in which I studied drama). Due to small fish big pond syndrome, I abandoned that dream and began a degree in Mass Communication – which I now use in my role in internal communication and marketing. But when I really grow up, I want to be an author. 😛

    P.S. Ponies don’t really do it for me so I’m looking forward to this series! 🙂

    1. I’m glad someone agrees about the pelicans!

      Croc milk huh? I’d try it 😉

      Yeah, sorry about the pony take-over for a while there 😛 I got obsessed again. But I’m normalizing, and the ponies should stay on their regular Sunday schedule from now on 🙂

  11. I still don’t know what I want to be! I think my ideal situation would be as a perpetual student because I love to learn new things. I always wanted to be a teacher. I taught for six years and I liked it. I may even go back to it. I like writing and I’d love to be a full-time author too. I’m taking the real estate exam soon because I also like investment property but hate paying commissions. So… I like to do many things. I always have, so I guess I’m living up to the precedent set in my youth. What I’m best at is learning new things and taking on new challenges. 🙂

    1. Perpetual student would be nice 🙂 I love learning new things (which is why writing is also good!).

      That’s pretty awesome that you keep bouncing around. Some people like stability, but some need that change to keep life spicy and interesting 🙂 Good for you!

  12. Would-be archeologist here. But that didn’t happen. Oh well, I made other choices and I’ve enjoyed those roads. Now I just read about archeology and sip tea in the comfort of my living room instead among the ruins.

Leave a Reply

