The End.

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/the-end/]

I’ve been having a problem motivating myself to finish Fie Eoin. The re-write is done, of course, but I hand-write everything and typing it up is proving to be an issue. Not because I don’t have time (um, have you seen me on Twitter lately? And G+? I’ve even been spending an unusual amount of time on FB, which I hate!), but because I just can’t make myself do it. It’s kind of like when Hubs is gone for the night, and I’m exhausted, and I know I should go to bed, but I just can’t make myself take out my contacts and brush my teeth and turn off the light. I hate that it’s The End.

The end is near... The End.

The End of the day, The End of the novel, it doesn’t matter. I love Fie Eoin. I love the feel of the world. I love the characters. As much as I can’t wait to start working on Apollo I don’t want to finish working on Fie Eoin. In the past I never had a problem writing The End because I knew the novel wasn’t finished. That draft was finished. Or that re-write was finished. But I didn’t have to leave the world yet because there was still so much left to do. And I know there’s still plenty left to do on Fie Eoin once it goes out there to agents and eventually publishers, but this is it for the “mine” part. After I write The End this time it becomes everyone’s.

Yes, that’s the point of publishing a novel. But it’s scary. And I know there are going to be sequels, but the only one who survives the entire series is Kaye. And she’s not exactly my favorite (yeah, now you know why GTKY Tuesday was all about Murder).

I just hate to leave Fie Eoin and my favorite characters for so long. I can’t imagine how hard it’s going to be to write the last book. To finally write The End and mean it.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

25 thoughts on “The End.”

  1. If you hate the thought of leaving Fie Eoin that much, promise yourself that you’ll start writing a sequel as soon as you write the words “The End.” That doesn’t mean you can’t break that promise later.

  2. Oh man, I experience the same thing even just with reading! (It’s why I procrastinated reading the last Harry Potter book for so long.) Good luck detaching! It can be hard. Try to think of all the wonderful characters/worlds that are still waiting for you!

  3. It is easy to get attached to what you’ve built. A strong ending should leave your readers satisfied but wanting more. The End doesn’t have to be the end forever, either.

    1. Oops. Hehe. Sorry!

      Things could change. FE changed so much that I wouldn’t be surprised if more characters make it through Book Three. In fact, there are two versions of Book Two – Pike’s Revenge where nearly everyone dies, and an unnamed version were not nearly so many people die. Just gotta figure out which is better (I personally like the everyone dies version, except for the fact that everyone dies…)

  4. All good things must come to an end–and besides, just think how great it will be once your book is out in the world for others to read and enjoy. Good luck on finishing it up and getting it published…and meanwhile, enjoy the clean house. 🙂

    (PS: My wife is a big fan of my writing procrastination because it usually means I’m cleaning more around the house too. 🙂 Have a great day!)

  5. What an interesting dilemma. Personally, I think it’s wonderful that you love your characters so much you don’t want to part with them. I’m at the stage where I’m really looking forward to bidding my current characters farewell and meddling in some new characters’ lives. But I’m still a way off being able to start something new… Sigh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

