Warm Fuzzies Blogfest #1

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/warm-fuzzies-blogfest-1/]

It’s Getting To Know You Tuesday AND the Warm Fuzzies Blogfest has begun! If you’d like to join in the blogfest, head over to Juliana’s beautiful new website and sign up! Today’s question is:

How do you broach the subject of being a writer to other people who aren’t authors?

While I don’t usually tell people I’m a writer until after I’ve known them a bit, I do bring it up on occasion. In the past it’s always been NaNo-related. Usually because I’m wearing a NaNo t-shirt and people are trying to figure out how to pronounce NaNoWriMo. Or sometimes it’s because people see me writing, and ask if I’m a student (I look young). Usually when people ask what I do I say I’m a nuclear chemist, and if I feel comfortable enough I’ll say “and I write books on the side”. Then, of course, it becomes the whole “no, I’m not published yet, but…” conversation.

What about you? Do you tell people you are a writer?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

24 thoughts on “Warm Fuzzies Blogfest #1”

  1. I’m getting more comfortable calling myself a writer. Like you, I used to first say that I was a university professor–which I am and very proud of it–then if pressed I would mention that I am also a writer. The next question is always, “What do you write?”. I’d look down, shuffle my feet and mutter, “stuff”.

    Now, I proudly state my career as a writer right off the bat and and answer the inevitable question with romantic suspense. I also tell them the name of my book and where they can buy it.

    Major progress for me.

    1. I can’t wait til I can tell people where to buy the book! Then I’ll probably switch them around. I’m an author, buy my book! Also, I’m a nuclear chemist, so don’t try to blow anything up. That just makes my dayjob miserable 😉

      Congrats on getting over that hurdle!

    1. You DEFINITELY need a T-shirt! I also have one that says “Daughter of Aleda” that I used to wear every week, and people always asked me if Aleda was my mother’s name ^_^ Then I got to explain it was from a book.

      I wore that t-shirt into nothingness 😛

  2. The problem here is that being a writer does not fit people’s expectations. I would be completely intimidated by someone who is a nuclear chemist and would be desperate for them to tell me that they are a writer!

    The worst discovery is that when you mix with other writers socially (I suspect that you don’t) they are even less welcoming if they think you are cleverer/more talented than they are.

    Never tell a writer that you are a nuclear chemist – if you do, watch them running to hide all of their science fiction.

    Writers only fit in with the truth and the truth is fictional and nobody knows what it is.

    It’s a club of people who have to imagine a club.

    Best wishes

    Emma

    1. I was a NaNo ML for a few years and made many friends out of that experience, but since they knew me as a writer first and a nuclear chemist second I think that helped with any intimidation on their part 🙂 Now they’re my best friends in Charleston! 😛

      It probably also helped that none of them were writing sci-fi. I did have a critter once who was writing about radioactivity and had to point out a few flaws, but I hope she took it well.

  3. I’m comfortable telling people I’m a writer. The issue gets sidetracked most days as I’m comparing “baby stats” with other parents. That’s OK too.

  4. New follower! Followed you over from Juliana’s. 🙂

    And OMG! I’m a Chemical Engineer who ‘writes YA fiction on the side’!

    I’m with ya. Don’t really tell anyone about the side stuff.

  5. I’m a total bigmouth when it comes to my writing (and in general, really). Anyone who’s known me for more than a couple of hours (outside of work) usually finds out that I write. You’d think that after all that practice, I’d be better at explaining what my book is about, but I’m not very good at the verbal pitch! Something I need to work on… 🙂

  6. I’m so impressed that you’re a nuclear chemist. Between that and the writer, I’d love to peep over your shoulder when you explain all that and then ask. So what do you do? 🙂

    Shall we have a practise your pitch blogfest next lol?

    1. It IS fun to see people’s faces when I tell them I’m a nuclear chemist. I’ll probably never stop saying that first 😉

      Yes! We need a practice your pitch blogfest! Or, vlogfest I guess ^_^

  7. I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before, but I’m planning to this year! I love my writer friends because even though I do tell people I’m a writer, most of them don’t really want to hear about my WIP or problems or critiques I need or a question I have about a certain agent or something. It’s helpful to have someone who is as into writing as I am to talk to about that kind of stuff.

  8. I still avoid the topic a lot, but sometimes it’s not so bad simply because the person I’m talking to only wants to tell me what I should be writing about. I don’t need to say anything!! Ha ha.

    1. lol! Good point – it does seem that people are very opinionated about what you should write 😛 My friends are always giving me “suggestions”. Until I ask if they want to die in a novel 😉

  9. I think nuclear chemist will shut up anyone when you add “writer”, in fact for you it’ll just give you even more cache! Like, “I’m a genius AND I have emotions, booyah!”

  10. Rebecca,
    I love that you embrace both sides of your brain with the day job and the creative writing. I think your skills would be a huge bonus for some of your fantasy/magical realism stories. When I was writing a scene in one of my manuscripts involving my MC working to develop a vaccine against a horrible disease, I turned to a chemist friend/writer who I met at a Highlights Foundation workshop. She was very helpful! (During November my goal is to pick that shelved manuscript up again and finish editing it.)

    All my kids and stepkids seem to be heading in the direction of the sciences. Oldest stepdaughter is studying for her PhD in physics at Duke, oldest son is studying pre-vet at OSU, stepson is studying mechanical engineering at FSU and both younger girls seem to have that scientific bent as well. It makes them happy!

    I’m visiting from the Warm Fuzzies Blogfest. Great meeting you.

    1. I LOVE coming up with diseases and vaccines and stuff like that ^_^ For being fantasy my stories have a LOT of science in them, as far as explaining the fantastic 🙂 I love using it that way.

      Good for your kids! We need more science-minded poeple in this world 🙂 We’re snuggly 😉

Leave a Reply

