Warm Fuzzies Blogfest #3

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false https://rebeccaenzor.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/warm-fuzzies-blogfest-3/]

Welcome back to the Warm Fuzzies Blogfest! This is going up a day late (and I never did put up last week’s Fie Eoin Friday >.<) but I’m finally caught up at work and have a bit of time to myself again.  Today’s question is not so warm or fuzzy.

How do you kick your MC while they’re down?

As many of you already know, being my MC is a bad thing. A really bad thing. I’m not nice to my favorite characters and it’s much safer to be a wallflower in my books (except for Al… poor Al). The more I like you as a character, the more chance that you’ll die by the end of the book. That’s right, not all my books have happy endings.

Fie Eoin has a moderately happy ending. No MCs die, at least. Which is more than I can say for Pike’s Revenge, Lane’s Girl, Apollo and Daphne, and Book of Souls (and of course Aleda’s Story, which you can read here). But let’s head back to Fie Eoin and see just how much I kick my characters while they’re down. Kindra’s the MC (although Kaye is co-MC I don’t like her as much, and so don’t destroy her life quite the same way I destroy Kindra’s).

The opening scene of the book is a whipping ceremony. Yeah, it hurts. The whole point of the ceremony is to see a vision in the scars the whips leave on the back, which gives the warriors their new name. Kindra’s nameless. Then her twin sister is kidnapped by a rival tribe. Kindra is kicked out of the warriors group and she immediately gets her butt kicked by a different rival (and by kicked, I mean she’s bedridden for a moon or two). She finds out who killed her father, and it’s not who she thought. She’s captured by the tribe that she thinks kidnapped her sister, only to find out they don’t have Kaye. She has to fight her way out – more butt-kicking. The rival who kicked her butt way in the beginning comes back, and kicks her butt some more. Half of her face is badly burnt.

Let’s just stop there and say that she’s my favorite >:)

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

23 thoughts on “Warm Fuzzies Blogfest #3”

  1. Aww, but there’s so much more that you can do to a character than kill them… that’s like a happy ending for someone whose life is really sucky. 😉

    I’d call it “The Nameless Warrior”.

    1. Oh yes, in at least two of those books the death of the MC *IS* the happy ending (but not if you ask one of my Critters :P). Compared to one of those FE is a tragedy!

      I… actually really like that title. That might be perfect! Thank you Rachel 🙂

    1. Gah! All these great titles to chose from! Oh man, how will I ever decide?

      I’ll be putting out a call for a few new eyes to go over the WIP one last time before I query. Keep your eyes out at the end of the month!

  2. Lots of action going on here. My husband’s reading Brad Thor’s Full Black right now and bragged to me the other night that it’s great because four people died in Chapter One and another four perish in Chapter Two. (Or something like that. Not sure if both chapters killed off four.) For your book, how about something like Crusade for Truth by a No Name Warrior.

  3. Oh, your poor MC. Can’t she get one day off? i suppose at least she hasn’t died… yet. You did say you like to kill characters off, so it could happen in a sequel. I don’t have a suggestion for titles, but some of the other suggestions I really like.

Leave a Reply

