Getting to Know You: Chinese Zodiac

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor.com/2012/01/24/getting-to-kno…chinese-zodiac/]

Happy Lunar New Year everyone! Since yesterday was the lunar new year and this next year is the year of the Dragon (doesn’t that sound awesome and badass? I think that means it will be a good year ;)) today’s getting to know you question is:

What is your Chinese Zodiac sign?

I’m the Dog, which according to Wikipedia means I’m “honest, intelligent, straightforward, loyal, sense of justice and fair play, attractive, amicable, unpretentious, sociable, open-minded, idealistic, moralistic, practical, affectionate, sensitive, easy going. Can be cynical, lazy, cold, judgmental, pessimistic, worrier, stubborn, quarrelsome.”

Yep, that pretty much describes me. Well, maybe not so much practical or pessimistic, but the rest is pretty spot on. What about you? Which sign are you, and do you agree with what it says about you?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

16 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: Chinese Zodiac”

  1. I’m the Ox, which is described as “Dependable, ambitious, calm, methodical, born leader, patient, hardworking, conventional, steady, modest, logical, resolute, tenacious. Can be stubborn, dogmatic, hot-tempered, narrow-minded, materialistic, rigid, demanding.”

    It’s only half accurate. I’m not ambitious or a leader (though one time a teacher told me I should be *shudder*). Definitely not hot-tempered, unless I haven’t slept in a couple days, and not materialistic. I am rigid and demanding sometimes, but I swear I have good excuses! 😛

  2. Interesting! I’m a Rat. LOL So I’m “Forthright, tenacious, intense, meticulous, charismatic, sensitive, intellectual, industrious, charming, eloquent, sociable, artistic, and shrewd.” Which pretty much is me except I’m not so sure about charismatic or charming–or eloquent or sociable!! I’m more introverted and would rather write than express something verbally. I see you’re a Metal sign, and I’m a Water sign. 🙂

    1. It’s funny, because in the Chinese zodiac I’m metal, but in the (American? English? Greek? What’s the zodiac that we use?) Zodiac I’m an air sign 😛 I wonder which one holds more sway over me?

  3. I’m a monkey, which the kids find funny for some reason. This means I’m supposed to be an “Inventor, motivator, improviser, quick-witted, inquisitive, flexible, innovative, problem solver, self-assured, sociable, artistic, polite, dignified, competitive, objective, factual.” Most of that fits, I guess, although I’m not very artistic, dignified, or self-assured (especially about the writing stuff). My wife is a tiger which means I’m not supposed to get along with her.

    BTW, how goes the book and the critiques?

    1. I think being a writer makes you automatically artistic 😉

      I’ve gotten some critiques back so far, and they’ve been good although I still have a couple of weak spots. I’m still waiting on the full manuscript critique to come back from the publisher, but it should be here in the next couple of weeks. I’ve started working on a completely different book to get some space from FE before I have to go and edit it again 😛 I’m sure you’ll start hearing more and more about Apollo as the year rolls on (I plan to have it done and ready to submit by the end of the year).

  4. my eldest Gus, is a Dragon. My hubby is a monkey (yes, he’s a French Monkey too) and the baby and I are tigers. The running joke is that the Tiger dominates the Monkey and the Dragon dominates everyone else. I keep telling my son, NOT.UNDER.MY.ROOF lol I’ve always thought the Chinese Zodiac describes us better than our regular Zodiac… though I’m a fully fledged Gemini 🙂

    1. I’m definitely a Libra when it comes to the regular Zodiac, but from what I’ve read of Libras and what I’ve read of Dogs it’s pretty similar 🙂

      Hehehe, just remind your dragon that Mom’s ALWAYS win. No matter what 😉

  5. I’m a dog too! I find it amusing that I married a Tiger, because apparently that’s a good match for a Dog. Go figure! I’m definitely loyal and, I hope, amicable, but yeah, definitely I can be lazy and I worry a lot. I don’t think I’m cold though, or pessimistic. Fun to see a list of characteristics. Happy Chinese New Year!

    1. Speaking of lazy: I still haven’t dyed that pony >.< But I found it! Hubs hid it in the back of the extra closet, so I will try to do it this weekend 🙂

      I married a Rooster, which is supposed to be a horrible Dog match, but it's working out so far 😉

  6. I am a Rat/Mouse, and my old man’s a Sheep/Goat, depending on your translation. I’m also a Leo and he’s an Aries… so he’s very goat-like. We both fit our descriptors to the core, though I’m not fond of being described as ruthless and manipulative. I mean I only overthrew a country that one time. You’d think they’d let it go by now…

    1. Those silly countries and their silly history textbooks. They should be like Texas and take out the parts they don’t like 😉 (unless, of course, they liked your benevolent rule >:P)

  7. I’m delighted to be the Horse (my favourite animal – well, one of!) — “Cheerful, popular, quick-witted, changeable, earthy, perceptive, talkative, agile, magnetic, intelligent, astute, flexible, and open-minded. Can be fickle, arrogant, childish, anxious, rude, gullible, and stubborn.”

    I don’t know how accurate it is – perhaps cheerful (if I’m not sleep-deprived), earthy, perceptive, intelligent and open-minded (at least I’m working on that one!). Also stubborn and have spent a lifetime working on NOT being gullible!

Leave a Reply

