Update #1

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/01/25/update-1/]

Time to try something new this week: I’m going to start keeping accountable to my fabulous readers by updating you on what I’m doing/have done for the week (not just writing-wise, but life-wise too). I have a feeling this year is going to be busy, so I’ll probably need someone to get the whip out if I want to get everything done.

And by busy, I mean awesome.

I have to admit, I’m having a pretty damn good year so far. January isn’t even over with and I’ve already started doing yoga twice a week, dropped some fat from my middle (my pants, which were starting to get tight a couple weeks ago, are now fitting normally again) and stopped drinking wine on the weekdays (I have a feeling this is more to do with the dropping fat than the yoga, since I’ve been doing yoga since September :P).

I’ve read more books in the past two weeks than I did for the last two months of 2011.

I finished The Nameless Warrior (which took me all of last year to re-write… twice) and did my first read-through of Apollo to get ideas for what needs to happen there. I sent it to my First Readers for ideas and feedback, and wrote a list of all of Apollo’s goals for the novel. I’m still trying to figure out which is goal #1, which will then dictate what type of re-writing I need to do (the top three contenders are: “Get dad to notice me (in a positive way)”, “get a scholarship for school”, and “get over the fact that I accidentally killed my girlfriend”. The daddy-issues are definitely the longest, but the scholarship and dead girlfriend guilt are a bit more immediately pressing).

I also bought a new water heater. Yay for hot water!

On the agenda for the next week:

Continue with the yoga, not drinking, and having hot water.

Finish reading Crash Into You and Dies Irae.

Find someone who knows Olympia, Washington, as well as someone who is an expert in the Apollo myths (if you know anyone who qualifies for either please let me know, or point them my way!). Start building a chapter by chapter outline of the novel, and figure out what is the #1 goal in Apollo’s life. Storyline how his parents met, and how things progressed to having a bastard child that daddy wouldn’t claim.

I’d say that’s a pretty reasonable list for next week. Is there anything that you need to be held accountable for next week? I’ll get the whip out >:)

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

11 thoughts on “Update #1”

  1. I love updates. 🙂 Writing and non-writing related. I too am doing yoga as part of my New Years Resolution. I would love to do yoga Monday through Friday, but so far I’ve only done it twice a week. I guess that’s still good. Maybe I’ll up my days in February.

    Good luck on next weeks goals!

    1. I would love to do it more than twice, but that’s all my work offers so far, and I can’t afford a “whenever you want” pass to any of the local yoga studios 😦 Maybe once that book sells 😉

  2. First of all, let me say how proud I am of you for dropping some of the fat and finishing The Nameless Warrior. That is awesome!

    I love the ideas you’re generating for the Apollo book. Unfortunately, I can’t help you in the expert area, but it sounds like you’re off to a good start. 🙂

Leave a Reply

