Update #3

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/02/08/update-3/]

It’s Thursday, which means it’s time for another exciting update on my crazy life goals! Last week I was shooting for the following:

Yoga! And work is starting a new Yopilates class next Friday, so definitely join that. Continue not drinking on weekdays, and cut back on the weekends.

Finish reading Crash Into You and Dies Irae. For reals this time ;) Start the second Game of Thrones book so I can have it done by the premier on HBO (find out when the premier is…).

Continue searching for the elusive expert. Actually start the outline. Bug the First Readers if they haven’t responded.

Breathe – the edits on The Nameless Warrior should be coming back any time now. So breathe!

How’d I do? Well, I failed the “cut back on the weekends” part quite spectacularly 🙂 But hey, if you’re going to fail, fail big! And have fun doing it! We had so much fun failing, in fact, that I actually got Hubs to watch Dr Who and like it. This is a huge accomplishment (it also means I get to re-watch Nine, who is my favorite).

I finished reading DIES IRAE (if you missed Christine’s guest post you can find it here) and started reading CLASH OF KINGS. I already like it better than the first Game of Thrones book because I don’t know how it ends (and I have realized I will never read Harry Potter, because I know how it ends. It seemed like such a good idea at the time to watch the movies first). I have about one or two chapters left of CRASH INTO YOU, but I can’t take that one to work, so it was a bit slower.

I also found an expert! A very lovely person over on Google+ gave my info to a friend of her’s who works for a senator in Washington State. My new expert is sending me photos of the buildings so I can nail the setting and sending me lots of info about the page program, so I know exactly what Apollo will be doing when he starts working for his dad. I also remembered that my best friend in high school ran cross country, and he sent me a huge long email about that, reminding me once again why he was my best friend in high school. I am still looking for experts on the local high schools, and a mythology expert.

I started the outline (I’m about halfway done) and storylined through the Hyacinth part of Apollo’s past. I did bug one First Reader, but she hasn’t had a chance to start the book yet, so I must practice patience and bug the other two instead 😉

And yeah, still breathing – still waiting on edits. Now that the Apollo backstory is all finished I’ve been trying to figure out what needs to happen in Pike’s Revenge. Fie Eoin changed so much that the current version of the sequel won’t work without major changes (also, my life has been threatened if I kill Kindra) so I’m trying to figure out something else. I do have an alternate version, but it’s not as exciting and it completely leaves out one of the new POV characters. I’m not ready to kill that darling yet, so I’m seeing what other doors my muse will open. Either way I need the current novel’s edits back first, to make sure there are no other major changes to work on.

For next week:

Try not to fail so spectacularly at the weekend drinking thing, even if Dr Who is involved.

Read read read! And type up edits for Ryan, since I finished reading his chapters over a week ago.

Finally dye the pony for the Custom Pony Contest way back in October and send it on to Kal (sorry Amanda!). First, find out where Hubs put the bag of ponies.

Find more experts. Finish the outline. Bug the First Readers. Storyline a new Pike’s Revenge.

Finally write the query and start the synopsis for The Nameless Warrior. Hope and pray (and possibly sacrifice small animals?) that I get the edits back this week.

That sounds like enough for a busy week, don’t you think? What are your goals this week?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

7 thoughts on “Update #3”

  1. No! You have to read Harry Potter! =/ There are so many wonderful things they couldn’t put in the movies that you will appreciate. They’re so good.

    Congrats on the hubby and Dr. Who. My hubby and I both have been obsessed with Dr. Who since we were introduced to it sophomore year of high school. It’s wonderful.

    Good luck next week!

  2. Good work this week 🙂 Not sure if this will help or not, but my favorite mythology book is called D’Aulaires Book of Greek Myths. It’s a big thick book that covers everything, but its illustrated and told almost in a picture book kind of way so its fun and easy to follow. You may need something more indepth, but it may be worth a check out.

    And Ten is most definitely my favorite. I have a sign on pinterest that says “I rate sexy on a scale of One to Tennant. So true, interwebs. So true.

    Sarah Allen
    (my creative writing blog)

    1. At this point I need in-depth (I’ve read tons of mythology books – Ovid is a favorite of mine) so now it’s time to find someone who knows even more.

      Oh, duh, I took a mythology class. I bet the professor would help me out >.< (I can't believe this is the first time I've thought of that – thank you Sarah!)

      Ten is growing on me. He's no Nine, but he's certainly getting there!

Leave a Reply

