Getting to Know You: Valentines!

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/02/14/getting-to-know-you-valentines/]

Happy Valentine’s Day! Today I’m stealing a question from Nathan Bransford: Who is your favorite fictional couple?

My favorite fictional couple (other than Kindra and Gar, of course) is Auriane and Marcus from The Light Bearer by Donna Gillespie (which also happens to be my favorite book. Ever. Go read it! In fact, stick around and win a copy.)

Here, let me tell you more about this awesome book with the blurb:

On the day of her birth, Auriane received a mysterious amulet from a priestess – and a double-edged prophecy of doom and glory. The daughter of a Germanic tribal chieftain, Auriane witnessed unspeakable horrors committed against her people by ruthless invaders. And when tragedy tore her family apart, she took the oath of a warrior, and vowed revenge. Tales of her brilliant swath of conquest carried as far as Rome, to the renowned statesman Marcus Julianus – who felt his destiny intertwined with Auriane’s, and wore about his neck an identical amulet

Twin destinies intertwined by fate and mystery collide in this remarkable debut novel of ancient Roman and Germanic tribal conflict and resolution from a gifted new writer. Epic in scope, The Light Bearer is an unforgettable reading experience in the tradition of I, Claudius.

And yes, I wrote The Nameless Warrior before reading this book (now you know why it’s my favorite!). The descriptions in this book are amazing. The characters are deep, the obstacles are on a scale that you can only write about when Ancient Rome is involved, and the moment Auriane and Marcus finally meet is so sweet and delicious. They definitely win best couple for me 🙂

If you’d like a chance to win this book and read this great love story for yourself just leave a comment with your favorite storybook couple. I’ll draw a random winner and announce them on Sunday’s Custom of the Week post!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

19 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: Valentines!”

  1. My favorite couple is Taran and Eilowny from The Chronicles of Pryain. I’ve read the books countless times, and always love watching their relationship develope.

  2. Hm, that’s a toughy. I probably can’t pick Aidan and Trent. 😉 Okay, I’ll go with Lisa and Quinn from The Truth Seeker by Dee Henderson. She’s a forensic pathologist and he’s a US Marshal. I love my guys with guns. *grin*

  3. Hmm, good question…I always love reading Yalena and Valek from Poison Study. Truth be told, I fall more for characters than the relationships they’re in. You’ve made me think today 😉

  4. My favorite fictional couple is Wesley Crusher and Chelsea Clinton from the Stephen Ratliff TNG fanfic “Time Speeder”. In this story Marrissa Amber Flores Picard and her Kids Crew go back in time to 1996 and pay a visit to Bill Clinton. There they find out that Star Trek is based on actual events, and that Wesley and Chelsea have a thing going. In a subsequent episode they get married and Chelsea becomes the Captain of her own Federation starship.

  5. Um. This is the hardest question ever but I think I am going to have to go with Aral Vorkosigan and Cordelia Naismith, from Shards of Honor and Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold. Those are maybe my two most favorite books, and Cordelia is maybe one of my all time most favorite characters, and Aral — *sigh* Aral is WONDERFUL.

  6. I’ve always liked Morgon and Raederle, from Patricia McKillip’s Riddle-Master of Hed series. They love each other, but they’re each badass in their particular way and are good at getting things done on a solo basis as well.

Leave a Reply

