Update #4

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/02/16/update-4/]

I’ll be honest: this past week kind of sucked, guys. I’ve been stressed out, my neck and back have been hurting bad, and my neighbors have really made me re-consider that whole “love thy neighbors as thyself” thing. I’d like to just leave this week in the past.

So let’s get that over with. Last week’s goals were:

Try not to fail so spectacularly at the weekend drinking thing, even if Dr Who is involved.

Read read read! And type up edits for Ryan, since I finished reading his chapters over a week ago.

Finally dye the pony for the Custom Pony Contest way back in October and send it on to Kal (sorry Amanda!). First, find out where Hubs put the bag of ponies.

Find more experts. Finish the outline. Bug the First Readers. Storyline a new Pike’s Revenge.

Finally write the query and start the synopsis for The Nameless Warrior. Hope and pray (and possibly sacrifice small animals?) that I get the edits back this week.

Let’s just say that I failed miserably this past week, on all fronts except read read read! I never typed up Ryan’s edits, I haven’t dyed the pony (although I did find it, and I did wash a bunch of them for my co-worker that I’ve had for months now),  I didn’t find more experts or finish the outline for Apollo. I did bug my First Readers, but none of them have started reading yet :/

I have been storylining a new Pike’s Revenge 🙂 And that has been insanely fun. I haven’t storylined a new story since Book of Souls, and that was two years ago! So instead of choosing between Bar’s storyline and Bren’s storyline I made them into the same person and took a little bit from each story to make something brand new. I still don’t know what happens, and that’s so much fun. I can’t wait to find out how this one ends.

And I did manage to work on the query a little bit. I added one line, at least, and have been mulling it over. I need to go back and re-read the entire book, because so much changed and I can’t remember which parts were cut. I’ve been trying to hold off until the edits come back, because I know I’ll find things I want to change, but so far not a peep from the editor (he also hasn’t been on Twitter, so hopefully he’s so engrossed with The Nameless Warrior that he’s forgotten everything else).

So let’s not go overboard this week. Keep it simple, right?

Calm the frak down. If this requires wine, so be it. Ignore the neighbors and work on getting the hell out of that neighborhood.

Finish A CLASH OF KINGS and type up Ryan’s edits.

Dye the pony. Dye the pony! Then mail it out. Also mail out Mo’s shirt, since I’ve had it for a week now 😛

Finish storylining Pike’s Revenge and finish the query for The Nameless Warrior. Start the synopsis and maybe check in with the editor to see how many red pens he’s gone through so far.

That seems like a simple enough list for the week. Let’s stick with that.

How did your last week go? Any celebrations? Or, like me, do you need a little boost to get you going on those goals?

~~~~~

Don’t forget: I’m giving away a copy of my favorite book, THE LIGHT BEARER, to one lucky winner! Just stop by Tuesday’s Getting To Know You post and comment with your favorite fictional couple to be entered into the drawing.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

2 thoughts on “Update #4”

  1. Don’t beat yourself up too much about having a bad week. Sometimes things go really smoothly, other times it’s the exact opposite. I’ve been having a bit of a rough time lately too but things are starting to look up so hopefully that continues! 🙂

Leave a Reply

