Custom of the Week: Epona

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/04/09/custom-of-the-week-epona/]

Happy day after Easter all! I hope you’re all recovering well from sugar-induced comas (or wine-induced comas, if you don’t eat sugar). Today’s pony is super awesome because the customizer had to break the legs off and re-attach them to get the pose! That’s dedication to art, right there, and if you click on the photo you’ll be taken to a Facebook album that shows the progress of the pony as it’s being made.

Epona, by Robin Hood Fan

Isn’t that so cool? I love the movement and the colors! Gorgeous!

If you have a pony that you would like featured as a Custom of the Week, please email me: rebeccaenzor@gmail.com

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

18 thoughts on “Custom of the Week: Epona”

  1. Epona!! She’s beautiful. Takes a lot of guts to rip apart a pony’s legs I think, but it really paid off. I should get into making customs. It looks so fun! *_*

    1. I agree – I don’t think I could ever do that. Ripping off a head to get the hair out is one thing since they are made to come off, but ripping off the legs? eeep! I felt bad giving Harley a haircut! 😛

      1. I know the feeling haha! I’m a cosplayer and sometimes I feel like I’m “wrecking” things by making them accurate. For example, making a slit up the side of Yuna’s skirt. And now I have to style my first wig, which means hacking half of it off, making bangs, etc. Terrifying! O_O

          1. Vert true. But even if it doesn’t come out as planned or you did ruin it, you will always learn LOTS from your experiences and that’s always worth it in the end!

  2. Thanks guys!! 🙂 I’m so honored to be featured and I’m so happy everyone likes her! It was my first re-pose on a MLP and my very first base creation. It was FUN! I was having a very stressful day at work and just needed a release so I decided to start hacking up a MLP..lol! I’ll be honest, when I first started her I was like…errr..yea right, this is NOT going to work……but I just kept picking and sanding and drilling and gluing and viola! It worked! Can’t wait to start my next one! 😀

    @Rachel & Rebecca: Yes, she was for sale but she seems to be having some minor issues upon very close inspection. I noticed this when I was painting her face marking that I had forgotten after the photos were taken (oops! o_o). So I took her off the market. The imperfections are not noticeable when she’s on display but if you look real close, you can see some shiny areas and some very thin hairline crazing in the pastel color. It may have been due to humidity or the sealer not fully curing before starting the next layer. I dunno…I could also just be acting super picky with her. She will definitely need to be re-sealed (especially since she has her face marking now) and left to cure for awhile but if you’re still interested, feel free to shoot me an email or PM and I can snap some more photos of these areas to show you what’s goin’ on there and maybe we can work something out 🙂

    Thanks again for the kind words everyone! It really means a lot as I am still fairly new at this 🙂
    ~C.Riley (aka RobinHoodFan)
    facebook.com/pozzitoons
    pozzitoons.com

    1. I’m so glad you decided to take the risk – she’s so beautiful!

      I’ll make sure to point Rachel to this reply, in case she doesn’t come back to check. It won’t be the first pony sold from this feature 🙂

      When you finish the next one definitely let me know! I’d love to see her 🙂

  3. Sorry to bring up an old thread but I just wanted to update my facebook and website info. They are now: facebook.com/artbycriley and crileycustoms.weebly.com

    As for an update on Epona, I never did get around to fixing/addressing the minor issues but I ended up giving her as a little cheer-up gift to a fellow hobby friend 🙂

    Since Epona, I have created one more drastic MLP, Rudolph: http://on.fb.me/1t5Ak3u

    I hope this update finds everyone well 🙂
    ~Christina

Leave a Reply

