Update #11

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/04/19/update-11/]

And the pony take-over of the blog has been beaten back into submission! I didn’t post this week’s Custom because even I was a little sick of the ponies. Also because I spent all day Sunday gardening. After three years our Mexican Heather finally died, so I spent the day ripping out the dead Heather and replacing it with Primrose (this is funny because my little sister’s name is Heather, and we all should know the famous little sister named Prim by now). The Primrose has taken pretty well already to the garden bed, and I planted some tiny red flowers in the front bed to give it a little color (right now it’s all green – my bulbs have bloomed and gone and the wildflowers haven’t yet bloomed).

I also gossiped with my neighbor about my other neighbors and got myself a mild sunburn. I used the magic sunburn relief spray from Key West and it’s turned into a little tan already. Which turns my mind towards Key West, where I will be hanging out on the beach with margarita in hand soon!

My plan is to (hopefully) get the edits on THE NAMELESS WARRIOR back tomorrow, spend next week fixing the things that need fixing and adding a couple scenes I’ve written since sending it off, and then write the synopsis. I’ll send out the first batch of queries right before I head to Key West so that I’m not sitting at home biting my nails over rejections. Instead I’ll be laying on a beach, drinking a margarita, not worrying about rejections 😉 Which means I’ll have a super fun inbox to return home to.

I’m also trying to finish storylining Book Three before we leave for Key West, because there is no writing allowed on vacation! I’ve almost finished storylining Hemlock’s half of the book (which will probably take up more than half of the book, oops) and I’ll start on Barracuda’s half soon. I’m already completely in love with Book Three and the relationship between Hemlock and the queen. They fight like Rebecca and Lane, and if you’ve been around for a while you know I love a good Rebecca/Lane fight. I might even love Book Three more than NAMELESS (don’t tell Kindra). I definitely love it more than PIKE’S REVENGE (don’t tell Karigan). In FE and PR I follow the stronger twin through most of the storyline (Kindra and Karigan) but in Book Three I’m following the “weaker” twin around for the most part. Hem’s strong in his own way, of course, but everyone would consider Bar the stronger twin. Plus it’s totally fun to write a man’s POV as the main character! He’s a lot like his grandpa Gar 🙂

Of course now I have to do a few minor edits on NAMELESS to make them match one of the plotlines for Book Three (which really needs a name, but The Known World is already the name of a book and I can’t think of anything else right now). And that’s why I decided to storyline Book Three before trying to write the first draft of Pike’s Revenge. I knew it would change things. So now when I finish storylining everything I can write PR, Sipi’s Novella, AND Book Three all at the same time! I’m probably going to die of FE overdose this summer 😉

But what a way to go.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

5 thoughts on “Update #11”

  1. Good grief, that’s a lot of planned writing! 🙂 It’s definitely a good idea to get book three planned before you finalize book one though, so that you have some wiggle room for fun stuff you want to do. Good luck!!

    1. Oh yeah, the way Book Three is turning out is definitely changing the other two books a little (only one tiny thing, but it definitely needs to come up in Nameless and PR to make it work in FE3!).

      And hey, you know me and writing. I can whip out a first draft in NO time! 😉 For Trina, let’s hope my NaNo-mojo works in off-months.

Leave a Reply

