Getting to Know You: Beach Books

The Wind Through the Keyhole, Dark Tower #4.5 by Stephen King

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/04/24/beachbooks/]

I went to Barnes and Noble at lunch today to pick up the newest Dark Tower book (I have missed you Midworld!) and started browsing shelves for good books to take on vacation with me next month. I refuse to take my Nook or hardcovers to the beach (which means no reading most of my TBR pile), so today’s Getting to Know You question is this:

What is your favorite beach book?

I’m talking your favorite paperback that’s dog-eared, water stained, sand between the pages, beat up! Last summer I read To Have and Have Not by Ernest Hemingway (because how can you go to Key West and not read it?), Daughters of Rome by Kate Quinn, and The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory.

Why yes, I do have a thing for historical fiction on the beach 😉

So what about you? What was your last beach read, and what is your all-time favorite vacation book?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: Beach Books”

  1. Mm boy do I love me some Hemingway ❤ To have and Have Not was my first of his. You could try to read a The Secret History by Donna Tartt. I just finished that one and absolutely loved it. (Though the inner bookseller in me says shame on you, go to a Books-a-Million.) I'm taking Sacre Bleu with me to MD tomorrow, because it's art history, and Christopher Moore kills me ❤ I don't care if it is hardcover and horrible to cart around, heh heh

    1. I already told your inner bookseller I would go to Books-A-Million when I’m in your area this summer 😉

      I’ll look your recommendations up! (On the B&N website… ;P)

  2. Believe it or not, I’ve never read on the beach. I was too busy playing as a little kid, and too busy walking around or hanging out as an adult. But for dog-eared comfort books, give me early Mercedes Lackey every time: the Arrows trilogy, the Pawn trilogy (but skip the second book), and the Oath books (Tarma and Kethry for the win!).

Leave a Reply

