Getting to Know You: WIP Lines

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/05/01/getting-to-know-you-wip-lines/]

I was going to put this up last Friday for FEF, but then I caught the zombie flu that’s been going around the lab and took Friday off to bake the virus out of me in the sun (yay for the new fence!). Plus, it felt like I was posting a lot last week, and no one needs to listen to me talk about myself that much.

I was tagged by Shen Hart of Ink Stained Pawprints last week with the Lucky Seven meme that’s been going around. The rules are: Go to page 7 or 77 of your current manuscript. Scroll down to line 7. Then post the 7 lines following from there, exactly as they are!

I cheated a bit because page seven is all Warrior’s Ceremony setting and page 77 is just Gar complaining to his mother that Pike and Kindra don’t get along. So I flipped to page 177, found line seven, and was pleasantly surprised to realize it’s my favorite scene in the entire novel. How could I not use it? And I think it’s pretty self-explanatory, so please enjoy!

“I follow Ian Odion and his descendants. Kindra should get the horse.”

Cougar stepped forward, hand in the air, and then Al. Inu, Ocelot, and Gull followed. Goosebumps rose on Kindra’s skin as wrist after wrist shot up around her and she began to feel the full gravity of what was happening. It wasn’t about the horse at all. It was a rebellion. The warriors of Fie Eoin were choosing her over their chief. Spitting in Oak’s face with a forbidden mark.

Gar stepped forward, holding his wrist at eye-level so she couldn’t look away. When he spoke his voice was soft, meant only for her. “I follow Kindra Odion, the last warrior of Ian’s line. To the ends of Aleda. Forever.”

 

Now it’s your turn: what are your Lucky Seven WIP Lines?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

15 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: WIP Lines”

    1. It’s extra special because Kindra and Gar haven’t spoken in about a month and a half ❤

      That's the new icon for Fie Eoin 🙂 One of my good writing friends in town drew it for me. I absolutely adore it!

  1. Wow. Some very powerful stuff going on there. And I agree with Angela. That is one lovely picture. The detail is stunning. Whoever your friend is, they’ve got some wickedly-good drawing skills.

    I’m afraid my lines aren’t nearly as as strong as yours are:

    “Because, like this place is for you, it is -my- home.”
    He stared at her, mouth agape. “Fair enough. I cannot condemn what I am also guilty of.” Fingers combed the hair back from his face. “I swear if I’d the time to spare courting, I never would’ve …” His arm fell to his side. A sigh puffed out his nose. “You can return home if you wish, I will not stop that, all I ask in return is that you …” The entreaty trailed off as she silently backed away. “Again, you look at me with fear in your eyes,” he growled, following her passage across the garden. “Clarabelle, ple-”

  2. I’ve been reading the snippets here for awhile now (mostly your deleted material) and I’m excited to get a look at such a pivotal scene. I have to tell you, though, that I desperately want Gar and Kindra to end up together. That might not be what happens, but it’s what I’ll be cheering for.

    1. Cheer away! I love the new version where they are constantly at odds, and I can’t promise any wedding bells in their future, but I do hope you’ll be pleased with how it turns out 😉

Leave a Reply

