Getting to Know You: Big Cities

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/05/08/getting-to-know-you-big-cities/]

Vacation is nearly here, but before we take the trip to Key West we’re popping into Chicago for a St Vincent concert. It used to be a four hour drive when I lived in Michigan, so day trips to Chicago weren’t a huge deal. One time in college some friends and I woke up and got on the road at 4am, made it downtown by the time the museums opened, and spent the day visiting with Sue the T-Rex and the Shedd dolphins before we drove back home late at night. Hubs and I had our first together trip there back in college as well (we also went to Shedd Aquarium – it’s my favorite aquarium and I’ve probably been there more times than some of the people who live in Chicago :P).

Of the big cities that I’ve visited (which is a rather pathetic five: Detroit, Chicago, DC, Atlanta and Portland) Chicago is my favorite. I love that you can walk from Navy Pier all the way to the Aquarium along Lake Michigan without anything to impede your view. I love the Sears Tower (it will always be the Sears Tower to me). I love the food, and the wind, and that it doesn’t get ungodly hot in the summer.

So tell me, what’s your favorite big city?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

7 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: Big Cities”

  1. Each city has something special to offer and I enjoy many of them. If it’s not too hot San Antonio is a nice place to visit. Then of course New York City is usually pretty exciting, but I rather be there without a car and with lots of money. One of my long time favorites is Toronto–I have so many good memories of being there.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out

    1. Oh, it’s been so long since I’ve been there that I completely forgot about Toronto! I loved it as a kid 🙂 Great pick!

      And I agree, they all have their certain charm. But Chicago can charm me like no other ;P

  2. Ironically enough, Sydney, Australia, would be my favorite. There are so many amazing things to see in such a concentrated area. You can go from the waterfront to a beautiful park with just a bike ride, and I love taking the water taxis.

    P.S. If you ever get back to Toronto, Becca, let me know and I’ll drive up to meet you in person 🙂

  3. Oooh, good question. Not sure that they’re anywhere near as big but I love Sydney, Melbourne and -my current home – Brisbane. Singapore city is awesome to visit but I wouldn’t want to live there!

    1. The Field Museum is awesome. I’ve been to the Science and Industry museum once, but you really can’t beat Sue 😉

      Have fun at Worldcon, and if you have a chance to eat at XOCO take it – that place has the best tortas ever!

Leave a Reply

