Update #16: Pike’s Revenge and Apollo

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/06/13/update-16-pike…nge-and-apollo/]

You may have noticed my near-absence from the internet this past week, with the exception of the #WANAparty Friday night. We’re slammed with a big project at work, so I’ve been getting in some extra hours (I even went in on Saturday!) and that’s left me too drained to do much in the way of being social. The project will continue into July, so I’ll probably be mostly absent for much of the next month.

I’m finally working on PIKE’S REVENGE now that NAMELESS is sleeping around in other people’s computers and such (my baby’s all grown up and whoring around like a proper book!). I’m trying to figure out the best way to introduce the new characters and add in backstory without making it an info dump. And how to keep the big surprise a secret until the right time. I think I’m going to have to reveal at least a little bit of it ahead of time, but the real surprise will still be revealed at the appropriate time. I love this part of story building.

I’ve been editing for so long though that I’m finding it hard to get back into the mode of writing again. It’s been a long time since I’ve written a new book, and my internal editor is begging me to pause long enough to let him rip it to shreds. I have plans for him, though, oh yes I do.

You see, I won Marcy Kennedy and Lisa Wilson-Hall’s WANA International critique of the first 1,500 words of a novel. NAMELESS is all crittered out, and PR isn’t ready to be seen yet (plus, I don’t want to ruin the plot of NAMELESS for them!). I’ve been dropping the ball on editing APOLLO, so I decided to send that instead. Although 1,500 words isn’t much (a little more than the first chapter, which is way shorter than most chapters I write) I’m excited to see what they have to say about it! It definitely poses the problem (Apollo needs to get over his dead girlfriend) and it introduces the Big Bad Antagonist: Eros. Hopefully a little critiquing will be exactly what I need to start editing Poe and his crew again.

Anyone else doing a little editing this week? Perhaps starting work on something new? Or maybe you want to squee about a contest win? I may be busy, but I’m always up for a little squeeing or a word war between friends 😉

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “Update #16: Pike’s Revenge and Apollo”

  1. I always find critiques energizing. Sometimes I save them for a time I know I’ll sit down to write and use them as a spring board if I’m feeling too tired to focus. That usually gets me on track quick. 🙂 I actually just finished editing/revising the second draft of Elemental Magic 3. Now it’s up to the critters to find stuff. And I’ll be polishing my new release. But next week it will definitely be time to start thinking about what project is going to come next. 😀

      1. Both! Lol. I will definitely start Elemental Magic 4 in August, but I’m toying with the idea of trying something new for July. Another novella, but a different genre. However, I’m not gonna say much about it in case I fail. 😛

Leave a Reply

