I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/06/25/i-get-by-with-…rom-my-friends/]

As you already know, last week sucked for me. I lost confidence in my writing because of the critique. I’m having problems coming up with a new storyline because I no longer trust that what I come up with is any good. Add on to that some crazy stress in my personal life and it’s just been all around rough to stay my normal, contented self.

And I couldn’t have gotten through last week without the help of some amazing people. So today I’m going to celebrate them!

Hubs, of course, has been awesome. I don’t think the critique surprised him as much as it did me (he hasn’t read NAMELESS, and now I’m glad!). He let me read all weekend instead of doing chores, and I love him for it.

My best friend Laura skyped with me Sunday and helped me come up with new ideas while I made faces at her little boy ❤

Angela Wallace emailed to make sure I was okay, listened to me lament all the crap going on in my life lately, and then gave me her phone number so I could call and lament a little more efficiently. Luckily I had such a good weekend that I didn’t feel the need to call and complain, but the gesture meant so much to me.

Angela Perry, Juliana Brandt, and Ryan Goodwin listened to my ramblings over email and talked me down from the ledge. Then Ryan showed me a pizza box with Princess Luna drawn on it (she’s my favorite character from the new MLP show) 🙂

Jessica and Luvina for a) choosing NAMELESS out of all the entries for the Crits for Water agent wishlist contest and b) giving me as much time as I need to re-write NAMELESS before they send it on to their agent. That was a huge relief!

Everyone who commented on last Tuesday’s Getting To Know You post (and the posts at G+ and WANAtribe) about cheering up. I loved hearing about what makes everyone happy! In fact, let’s just expand this to my entire G+ family and WANA Tribe in general. You guys rock.

Is there anyone who helped you through the last week? Let’s celebrate them in the comments!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

19 thoughts on “I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends”

  1. Sorry I didn’t see your previous post before now. I’m kinda behind on keeping up with my favorite blogs. 😉

    If you can look at the “problems” mentioned in the critiques and understand what they’re saying, then I bet you’re still in pretty good shape. As long as you enjoy writing, those things can always be fixed up with a little more work.

    1. A little more work won’t kill me, and like they say: what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!

      And no problem about the getting behind. I haven’t been very good about visiting blogs all year *blushes* Once this (hopefully final) rewrite is done I’m going to tackle getting back into the social aspect of this whole blogging thing 🙂

  2. My cute hubby got me out of a mess last week, where I was totally stuck with a scene that felt out of place–but he’s brilliant at coming up with ideas and it eventually came out perfectly! 😀

  3. Writerly friends are so important. I’d like to say thank you to those people who commented on my last blog post to convince me that it was not a good idea to send ARCs out before I get my copy edits back from my editor. In retrospect, it was a pretty silly idea! 🙂

  4. Husbands are awesome! So are friends who love you no matter what you look like, are going through, what you say, etc. Yay for your friends getting you through last week. Life can suck, but having someone there to remind you why it doesn’t always suck is a blessing from the universe. I hope this week goes much better for you. Remember, critiques are meant to make your writing stronger, not tell you how bad the work is. Keep telling yourself critiques are GOOD! You want to hear it before it’s published, right? And not on Amazon for a review. Now get back in there and make that WIP shine. If for no other reason than to show your critique peeps you ARE as good as they think you are. Because, really that’s what it’s all about. You got heavy critiques because your reviewers believed you could do better. They know how awesome you are and want your book to totally kick butt. Keep at it, because I really want to read Fie Eion. And soon.

    1. This week is definitely better already – I’ve gotten over my ego bruising from the critique and am working on re-plotting the monster. And I’m SO glad I heard that it needs a re-write before I started querying! It hurt to hear, of course, but I appreciate the honesty 🙂

      “You got heavy critiques because your reviewers believed you could do better. They know how awesome you are and want your book to totally kick butt.” ❤ Thank you for that 🙂 I promise I'll get it polished up as soon as I can so everyone can read it!

  5. I recently had the privilege of reading the new story you’re working on. Definitely don’t give up on writing. Writing is one of those things where we’re all going to be life-long learners, and the crits are always going to sting. But the things I saw that needed help in your work weren’t big deals. They’re actually easy enough to fix. Lisa and I love crits like yours because we can actually give specific advice rather than just wanting to cry because we don’t even know where to start. I’ve also loved what I’ve read from The Nameless Warrior, and I’m confident that you’ll eventually have it ready for publication.

    1. Thanks you Marcy 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading it, even though it was short. And I’m extra glad you enjoyed all the little mythology references. I’ll keep working on it when I’ve finished the Nameless re-write, so hopefully there’ll be more tidbits on the blog soon!

Leave a Reply

