Slowly Moving Forward Again

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/06/28/slowly-moving-forward-again/]

Things are starting to get back to normal in my writing life. The post-critique craziness is settling down as I come up with ideas for making the book better, and I received my Apollo critique back from Marcy Kennedy and Lisa Hall-Wilson. It covered a lot of the same things (POV, which we all know is my weakness, and this funky little addiction I have with the word “as”). Marcy got the mythology references, which made me smile because I worked very hard on those references, but apparently if you aren’t a mythology buff they seem weird (although I think it’s even weirder that there are non-mythology-buffs out there!). Trust me, non-mythos-folks, Artemis’ nickname makes sense (Poe’s less so, but my dad used to call me Poe when I was younger because I was so pokey in the morning. Plus it rhymed with my sister’s nickname, Mo, which comes from her middle name – just like Artemis’!).

Hopefully those who don’t know the myths will like the book enough to look up the myths it covers (Apollo and Daphne, Hyacinth, Psyche and Eros, Niobe, and Orion to name a few).

But Poe and crew are going back on the shelf for a little while as I work on Nameless. And I’m not going to start re-writing that monster until after I’ve finished Story Engineering. With what I’ve read so far Kaye’s half of the book is getting a major makeover. Kindra’s is pretty solid (minus one glaringly huge plot hole) but the structure of the scenes is off (and I would have had no idea without Story Engineering!). So I’m going to actually write an outline this time (eek! gasp!) and make sure I don’t wander.

I do plan to wander around the beach again this weekend (based on the tides it should be dolphin weekend!), and I hope my thumb will be healed enough by next Weds to start up yoga again. It’s been two months since I’ve done yoga (May was busy with trips and visitors, and I hurt my thumb at the beginning of June) and my poor body needs it. Warrior poses in the living room are not enough to make up for the lack of yoga in my life right now. Even if warrior poses are my favorite.

I hope all has been well with you, Aledans. It’s been one giant love-fest this week on the blog and G+ so let’s keep the warm fuzzies going!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “Slowly Moving Forward Again”

    1. I tried an outline only once, and it failed miserably 😛 Of course I know a lot more now, and I know the story pretty well, so I’m hoping the outline will keep me focused 🙂

  1. I’ve been thinking about doing yoga too, but I don’t know where I’ll find the time. Sigh. Sometimes I wish there were 28 hours in a day.

    1. 28 hours would be marvelous! I would get plenty of sleep 😉

      Luckily our yoga class is at lunch, at our office, so it’s really convenient. Now I just have to get this thumb to stop throbbing!

  2. I’m reading through Story Engineering right now too 🙂

    I’m an outliner at heart. One of the most difficult things for me in co-writing with Lisa was to try to write without an outline because she’s a pantser. We haven’t quite perfected that part of the partnership yet 🙂

    1. I’m such a pantser. I tried an outline once, but it went horribly wrong 😛 But now that FE has been re-written three times and it’s still not good enough I think it’s time to organize a little better 😉

      I think, while cowriting, that’s a pretty good way to do it. You can balance each other out. Can you even imagine the havoc if you were both pantsers?

Leave a Reply

