Making Progress on the Outline

Image by Krissen on Flickr

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/07/12/making-progress-on-the-outline/]

I had such a good week, Aledans. Just a few hours after last week’s update I figured out how to (probably) fill the glaring plot hole in Kindra’s part of the story. I’m still working on the timing of everything, but her half of the book is pretty stable, so I’m going to start working on Kaye’s half soon. Kaye’s journey is more mental than physical, so I have to figure out how to make it as tense as Kindra’s half.

Timin will stay in the book for now, and I flirted with the idea of cutting Pike last night (seriously flirted with it – I think we got to second base), but there is so much that hinges on Pike that I just can’t do it. I was considering making Pike into Osprey but I think instead I’ll make Osprey a bigger character (especially since he now plays a big part in Book Two).

As you might remember from Monday’s post, it was Hubs birthday, so we both took a long weekend. Saturday we devoted to all those silly little chores that no one likes doing (dusting blinds, washing cabinets, putting away paperwork that’s collected on the desk, ect), and then we had three days to relax. I finished A Storm of Swords (finally!) and am ready to dive back into Midworld and Roland with Wind Through the Keyhole. Hubs made ribs and I made cake (with raw sugar), and we’ve been absolute gluttons for the past four days 😛

Yesterday I was finally able to go to yoga (first time in two months!), and while it didn’t bother my thumb too much my shoulders were so tight! Ouch. I’m definitely feeling it this morning. And then I slammed my bad thumb into the shower wall last night. Ouch again! But after a few minutes it actually felt much better, and I could bend it more than I’ve been able to for a month. So now I know the best medicine for a nearly broken thumb: nearly break it again 😉

And in the best news ever: my huge project at work is winding down, so I should have time to finish this outline and re-write without killing anyone! You know, anyone not in the book.

Before I forget: tomorrow I’ll be guest posting about Inspiration over at Marilyn Almodovar’s blog.

I hope you all had as great a week as I did, and that your weekend is restful and kind to you 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

4 thoughts on “Making Progress on the Outline”

  1. Glad to hear you made progress on the plot hole. Those can be such a pain. But if you’re lucky, the process of fixing the plot hole will lead you to other ideas you never would have thought of before.

Leave a Reply

