Done Freaking Out

Keep Calm and Have Wine (Key West, 2012)

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/07/25/done_freaking_out/]

If you noticed me anywhere around the internet on Tuesday you probably saw me freaking out about Pinterest. If you missed it and you’re interested in why I decided to delete all of my boards and start over, you can check it out here, here, and here. I’ve started to slowly re-build my boards (although some of them won’t show up on my profile for some reason) with the help of this list of photographers who are on Pinterest and who want you to re-pin their photographs (some of their boards are photos they like, not ones they have taken – be cautious whenever you re-pin anything to make sure the person who owns the picture has given permission to pin it!)

I’m really bummed because some of my favorite pins from the Fie Eoin board are not allowed, or I can’t find the owner at all :/ But I’ll find others to replace them. After all, I’d rather not steal someone else’s work unintentionally and get sued for it.

On the much-happier writing front I’ve finished typing up the first chapter! I’m in the middle of writing the second chapter now (which is difficult, because it doesn’t change much and I’m trying not to open the old document and steal old writing. I’ll go back through after I finish and include anything I forgot). Once I get to the point where everything changes I’ll be zooming along like a normal NaNo, I think 🙂 I’ve also got a couple of cut scenes to post for Fie Eoin Fridays now, so be on the lookout for Kaye tomorrow.

I hope you have a calm weekend Aledans!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

8 thoughts on “Done Freaking Out”

  1. The Pinterest Copyright thing is so sad. I know a few other writers who have deleted their accounts on Pinterest now too. My hope is that one day they will figure out an easier way for websites and copyright owners to opt in to Pinterest so that we know we are using safe photos. I think it’s awesome that you are determined to still do it. I will be keeping an eye on your progress with this. If it goes well for you, maybe I will tiptoe back in. 😀

    1. If you ever do jump back in, just know you can re-pin anything from my boards without fear! (I’m still trying to figure out about the quotes – I think I’m going to remove any that have actual photos behind the text, but keep all the plain background ones).

  2. I’m kind of glad that I hadn’t got around to Pinterest yet.

    Your willpower is much stronger than mine – I would’ve opened the old chapter two and plagiarized myself! 🙂

    1. If you ever do get around to Pinterest, just be careful. And know that everything I pin from here on out is 100% safe-to-pin! So you can always re-pin from me 😉

      I find that I actually write much better if I don’t go by an old version (ahh, being a pantser – old versions are like a very detailed outline and drain my creativity!) so I’m going to try that all the way through. Plus, I’ve been working on it so damn long there isn’t much I don’t remember 😉

  3. I just got started with Pinterest myself, so I only have one picture I re-pinned from someone else. Easy to fix.

    Glad to hear you’re making progress on the book.

    1. Very easy fix! I still like the site as an inspiration board, but you have to be very careful about what you put up. But you can get inspiration from legal pins just as well as stolen ones 🙂 At least you’re just starting out!

      Step by step, making progress. It’s more difficult than my other drafts because I’m trying to be so careful with it, but I already like it better! 😀

Leave a Reply

