A Waste Of A Week

Hubs loves the new fridge!

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/08/03/a-waste-of-a-week/]

There’s no Fie Eoin Friday this week because I’ve been completely thrown off, Aledans. On Friday night our fridge started making strange noises. By the time we woke up Saturday morning the ice maker was a pool, and the repair man said it was going to cost more than the price of a new fridge to fix it. We put bags of ice into the veggie bins and went to Lowes to buy a new fridge (we bought the most energy-efficient one they had, and it even comes with a wine cubby! Well, yes, it’s technically a milk cubby, but who drinks milk?). On Sunday they installed it, and now we have a pretty new fridge that opens in the opposite direction from what we’re used to.

Then on Monday I almost passed out at work. Did you know that the room spinning around you is not just a phrase? That’s what it actually looked like. I thought my instrument was moving, but really it was just my brain saying “hey, let’s fall over!” Luckily I didn’t fall over, but I did take the rest of the day off and go to the doctor. He drew blood (needles!) and told me to eat more meat and salt, but he didn’t know what was wrong with me (it wasn’t something from the fridge that didn’t stay cold enough). I still felt weak and nauseous on Tuesday so I stayed home again, but I didn’t feel well enough to do any writing until late that evening while I watched the girls gymnastics team kick ass and win gold. I finished chapter two that night, so I think I deserve a medal as well 😉

Of course after missing two days I was slammed at work, and still exhausted from whatever weird bug I had. But I’ve been writing while I watch the Olympics every night (there’s something to be said for already knowing the outcome when you watch). I should finish chapter three today, and I’ll try to barrel through chapter four over the weekend. I’ve got a long day of neighborhood yard sales tomorrow, so I should have plenty of time to write while I bake in the sun and wait for someone to buy my old books.

I also realized today that it’s going to take 3k/day (written AND typed up, because I’m a hand-writer) to make my goal of finishing the re-write by the end of August. Luckily the second half of the book doesn’t have to be completely rewritten, so once I hit the midpoint I should be flying through. The First Plot Point is coming up in chapter four or five (not sure where exactly it will fall yet, I like to break my chapters as I come to them), and then I’ll have four to five chapters of…um…I’m not really sure. Hijinks, to be sure. Probably a lot of Kaye and Gar, since Kindra will basically be on bed-rest after her big fight (with who? I’m not telling >;)).

And now I really must get back to writing if I want to make 3k today. I woke up with carpal tunnel (it’s been years since I’ve had CP – which tells you how long it’s been since I’ve written 3k/day) so hitting today’s goal should be fun!

Have a wonderful, pain-free, weekend Aledans 🙂 I have a lovely little pony scheduled for Sunday that I think you’ll like.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

7 thoughts on “A Waste Of A Week”

  1. Wow! You hand write everything? That’s impressive. Um, did you know you can switch the way a refrigerator door opens. It’s pretty easy to do, too. I’m sure now you’re used to the new direction, though.

    Take care of your hand and I hope the room spins stop. I get that periodically and it’s usually low blood sugar and/or anemia, which might be why the doc told you to eat more meat. You could be low on iron. If there’s nausea involved or a sore throat, it might be an inner ear thing. In any case, feel better!

    1. Yep, hand write everything! When I sit at a computer I type too fast, so everything sounds horrible. The pen forces my brain to slow down, and then I can do my first edits as I type up what I’ve already written.

      I had a big fat steak last night, so I’ve kicked the anemia in the butt! 😉 Thank you, Tameri!

  2. You know you can switch the side you open the door on all fridges, right? Also, glad you are feeling better. I actually passed out one time,so you have my sympathies.

Leave a Reply

