Halfway Done with the Re-write!

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/08/23/halfway-done-with-the-re-write/]

What do you know, Aledans, I was right. Kindra did something irrational. We’re now chugging along in Chapter Five, being a bit too wordy (but I can fix that as I type it up) and Kaye’s world is about to be completely destroyed, which means the First Pinch Point is coming. Which means I’m almost halfway through the section of what-the-heck-is-going-on 😛

I also had a wonderful talk yesterday with my best friend/first reader/evil scientist who will take over the world someday/Laura. She has all these wonderful ideas for the Obsidians and Oak’s backstory. Some of them won’t be necessary because of the current backstory, but some of them would reinforce what I have – I just have to find a way to weave them in. I’m kind of thinking I need an Obsidian POV, although I’ve been told I have too many POVs as it is. I can probably get it in there with a long talk between Kindra and Obsid.

This weekend will be busy with family, but I’m sure I can get this done by September. I have to. Not only do I have the Crits for Water agent waiting on me, but now I’ve signed up for the Gearing Up To Get An Agent blogfest!

In other words, don’t expect to see much of me next week. I’ve already stopped eating lunch with friends so I can write, and I’m hiding the TV remote. If you see me hanging out on Twitter or G+ tell me to get back to work!

Have a great weekend, Aledans! And go sign up for the blogfest if you have a finished manuscript!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “Halfway Done with the Re-write!”

  1. I have a mantra ~ Rewrites are my friend. Rewrites are my friend.

    I figure if I say it often enough, it will be true. What I really need to do is learn to write with less words on the first draft. Cutting is hard. Then having to stitch everything back together is even harder!

    Keep up with the awesome work, Rebecca. You’ll get there and the finished result will be amazing.

    1. I’ve been trying to teach myself to use fewer unnecessary words, but my characters get into conversations and I love writing dialogue, and five pages later the scene finally ends 😛 It’s a damn waste of time and I have no time to waste right now!

      Thank you for all the support Tameri! I couldn’t do this without my friends 🙂

  2. Good for you for prioritizing writing and setting those important boundaries. Congrats on making it half-way through revisions! A landmark worth celebrating for sure.

    Have a fantastic time with your family. I can’t wait to hear more about your work. 🙂

    1. It’s never fun to have to tell people no, but my co-workers understand and have decided to play along by “banning” me from lunch everyday 😉 Of course that leaves me sitting alone at a table while mostly-strangers (it’s a big company) ask what I’m doing 😛 Ah well, it’s working better than chatting away merrily with my friends for an hour!

      Thanks for stopping by, August 🙂 I’ll always accept the support of other writers ^_^

Leave a Reply

