I Finished the Re-Write!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/ 2012/09/06/i-finished-the-re-write/]

Edit: if you’re looking for the GUTGAA Meet and Greet post, it’s here.

Well, Aledans, I didn’t finish the re-write by the end of August.

I finished it on the First of September 🙂 It was funny, I was writing along, thinking on what came next, and realized what came next was already written. I thought for sure I had more to write to get to the mid-point, but because of all the stuff I cut – I was there! Can’t complain about that. I spent the long weekend typing it up (I still have a couple scenes to type up), and now I’m going through and editing everything to make sure the old second half matches the new first half.

And I like this version so much better. Timin is an actual character. Gar and Kindra’s relationship is much more complicated (and they yell at each other like Rebecca and Lane <3). There’s an actual reason for the Gaerloms to help save Kaye (gasp! You mean plots need believability? Who knew). Corbin gets to live a little longer. And the backstory for Oak and the Obsidians is much stronger. Actually, the majority of what I changed was backstory. It’s amazing how a good backstory will lead to a much stronger story.

Tonight I have to fix the query, because tomorrow is the GUTGAA Pitch Polish. Next week I’ll be sending my query and first five pages to Natanya for the Crits for Water contest, and entering the GUTGAA Pitch Contest! *insert squeals of excitement and complete terror here*

For those of you keeping track this month with #writemotivation, here’s my list:

1. Final edit on The Nameless Warrior. Working on it now!
2. Polish the query. Working on it tonight and next week.
3. Write/polish the synopsis. Um…

And don’t forget, Aledans: PonyFest12 begins on September 16th! Start planning out your custom pony design so you can have a chance to win 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

15 thoughts on “I Finished the Re-Write!”

  1. Your September goals are much more doable than mine – and congrats on finishing your re-write! I’ve gotta say, I love all your character names 🙂 I’m doing a re-write at the moment too and it’s so awesome to see new life breathed into something.

    1. I love the new life breathed into the story, even if it’s a pain to re-write a book! Not that I’m a stranger to that…. 😉

      Thanks about the names! I actually had an early critter say she hated the names, which I thought was a stupid critique, because she didn’t say anything about the story or writing.

      And yes, keep things doable. I’ve tried to make big goals and failed. Now I figure reasonable goals should be achievable.

Leave a Reply

