Thursday Mornings Are Bad For My Health

Some cute to make up for last week’s spider!

[tweetmeme source=”RebeccaEnzor” only_single=false http://rebeccaenzor. com/2012/09/27/thursday-morni…-for-my-health/]

If you missed my harrowing adventure in health last Thursday morning, you can find all the needle-filled details at last week’s post: “I’m In A Glass Case Of Emotion!” (caution: there is a photo of a giant spider under a glass jar, and for those of you still upset over that photo don’t worry – karma got me back when a giant spider jumped out of the fume hood at me this week).

To pick up where we left off, my bloodwork came back on Saturday, but because I hadn’t been fasting my glucose was high (and my potassium was low). Which meant I had to go back in on Monday morning for “fasting” bloodwork (more needles!). The good news was: I don’t have hyperthyroid or anemia. Whew. Score one for healthy eating!

Saturday day, by the way, was awesome because I was able to meet up with my new writing buddy Adriana Ryan! We were supposed to be editing, but we ended up talking for three hours instead 🙂

Saturday night I tried playing WoW, only to discover the new changes made my hunter suck and my cat kept dying 😦 And then a political rant I read on FB made my heart rate skyrocket again! I had to shut down the computer and read for a bit until I could sleep.

And of course I couldn’t sleep on Sunday because I was freaking out about needles the next morning. Luckily that nurse was also very good at drawing blood (and I apparently have very good veins for it). So they sent me on my way to wait for more results. The agent round of #GUTGAA also started on Monday, so I was just a big ball of nervous energy that day.

So far I haven’t heard back about my bloodwork (the Dr called this morning, but I was taking the dogs for their morning walk and we’ve been playing phone tag ever since), and I haven’t gotten any requests on #GUTGAA. Which is actually a good thing, because it means my heart hasn’t been going nuts!

EDIT: I GOT MY FIRST REQUEST! And now my heart is going nuts 😉

Second Edit: Blood work came back clean! 🙂 They’re going to get the heart monitor thing ready and give me a call soon.

On the writing front, I need to re-do my query again based on a comment by one of the judges in the last round (I didn’t have time to re-write it before the agent round, because, you know, I thought I was having a heart attack). I still haven’t written the synopsis. The final edit is coming along very nicely. I was figuratively banging my head against the wall last night trying to figure out how to get the last merging Kindra scenes to work. I decided to go to bed and sleep on it, then literally banged my head into the wall! Right on a corner. I have a huge goose egg on my forehead and an even bigger bruise on my knee, but I woke up this morning with an idea that will merge them nicely, without having to re-write most of it 🙂 So…um…yay for having a giant bump on my forehead now? Ahh, the things we do for our stories 😉

And don’t forget, Aledans! If you want a chance to win a custom pony and free books you have to post the link to your pony design on the #PonyFest12 post before the end of September! That’s only four days away!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

13 thoughts on “Thursday Mornings Are Bad For My Health”

  1. Your editing sessions are much more exciting than mine. I just stare helplessly at my pages unable to decide how to fix their problems. Maybe I should try some of your techniques.

    Good luck on the tests!

  2. Hope the goose egg heals soon.

    I feel your pain on WoW. I don’t like the changes they made to paladin either, and my husband has already been complaining about his mage. He’ll probably recover faster than I will since I’m only an occasional player.

Leave a Reply

