The Next Big Thing Blog Hop: Apollo and Daphne

Apollo and Daphne, Gian Lorenzo Bernini

Hello Aledans! I’ve been tagged by Christine Fonseca for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop, and since I recently did a similar post for Nameless I thought I’d answer the questions for Apollo and Daphne this time. Enjoy!

What is the working title of your book? Apollo and Daphne (exciting, no? ;P)

Where did the idea come from for the book? The song Viva La Vida by Coldplay. I was listening to that song and wondering what happens to a God once they are no longer worshiped. I decided to write a re-telling of the Apollo and Daphne myth, as it’s one of my favorites. You can read more about it here.

What genre does your book fall under? Contemporary YA.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Oh gosh, I have no idea. After a quick google search for teen actresses with dark hair, I think Demi Lovato could pull off the Daphne look. As for Apollo…even a quick google search didn’t give me anything that stood out. Hello, the kid is named after a God – you can’t just choose anyone for him.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Apollo’s trying to outrun the guilt he feels over his girlfriend’s death, but ends up running after Daphne instead.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I’d like to be represented.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? A month – it was my NaNo 2009 project.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I’m not sure – I haven’t read a lot of contemporary YA yet. But anything dealing with the death of a girlfriend/boyfriend and the guilt associated with that would be comparable.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? My patron God, Apollo 😉

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? A number of myths play some part in the novel, including Hyacinth (Apollo’s dead girlfriend), Psyche (Eros’ ex-girlfriend), and Niobe (crazy). Also? Zeus is the governor of Washington State 😛

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

18 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop: Apollo and Daphne”

  1. This sounds like a great story. I love mythology, too. Those crazy gods got into and caused all kinds of trouble. And we get to find ways to retell their stories over and over. Best wishes on the story–I can’t wait to hear more about it!

    1. Thanks Diana! I love all the trouble those gods got into, and it’s so much fun to re-tell their stories for a new generation 🙂

      P.S. the books shipped today! They should be there by Friday 🙂

    1. I’ll tag you! TAG! You’re it 🙂 (I didn’t tag anyone in the post because so many people have done it already)

      And yes, I can’t wait to leave FE for a bit and work on something completely different.

    1. I’m done with the first draft, but I’ve learned A LOT about writing since then 😉 I’ll be re-writing it once I’m finished with Nameless, so I’m hoping to start that in November or December. I would say it shouldn’t take me long, but I’ve learned my lesson about thinking that 😉

Leave a Reply

