Erase Me (I’d rather be working on Book of Souls)

Happy Thursday Aledans! Today’s update is not nearly as exciting as last Thursday’s. I haven’t gone on any trips or turned another year older (although I’m already two weeks into 30 – how did that happen so fast?) and PonyFest12 is finished. If you didn’t see the winner, you can check out the announcement on Sunday’s Custom of the Week post.

I went back to the cardiologist on Tuesday for an ultrasound of my heart. I couldn’t see well because I was looking at the screen upside down, but when they turned on the sound I could certainly hear my heart beat! It sounded like aliens were sucking the life out of me. It was probably one of the grossest sounds I’ve ever heard 🙂 I go back in on Weds for the final results and diagnosis (unless they find something horribly wrong, at which point they’ll call me sooner), so this whole heart mess will finally be resolved and I can start any treatment I might need.

I’m still plodding along in the second half of the book, removing Loria from any scenes she might have been in. I added a Bryant scene that actually *gasp* made me like him. Things are pretty smooth, but I’m a bit burnt out and ready to move on to Apollo and Daphne.

Actually, I want to start writing the sequel to Book of Souls (yes, I know I never finished Book of Souls, but I do know how it ends). I’ve been listening to Erase Me by Ben Folds Five non-stop this week and it’s such a Sean-post-Neona’s-death song that I’ve been re-storylining the sequel. Haven’t heard Erase Me? Have a listen:

That song is just screaming for a scene to be written. Or maybe it’s just screaming. Either way I’m obsessed with it right now.

But until it’s finished, I’m back to Nameless. I’ll have plenty of time to work on BoS later.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

10 thoughts on “Erase Me (I’d rather be working on Book of Souls)”

  1. There’s nothing like working on two books at once with at least another one lurking. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that song–I listened to the whole thing. I like it!

    I’m thinking good thoughts for you!

    1. Thank You, Diana! Glad you liked the song – it’s probably not for everyone (Hubs was surprised I liked it, even!) but it’s such a good story in itself. I really admire that songwriters can write a story in such a small amount of words. I certainly cant!

  2. The descriptive sound you made for your heart had me cringing. You poor thing. I hope all turns out alright. I’ll be keeping an eye on you. I liked what I heard of the song. I started listening to it and made it about halfway when my daughter gave me the evil eye. Apparently she required silence and my phone was too noisy. Now my husband is sleeping behind me so it will have to wait. Sigh. Why is life so busy? 🙂

    1. So far I haven’t gotten a call that something is really wrong with my heart, so I’m hoping that’s a good sign 🙂

      lol, yeah, I think my husband would give me the evil eye too, except he’s also a bit obsessed with the album right now 😉

      And when someone figures out the answer to “why is life so busy” the whole world will probably explode or cause a parallel universe to open or something. (Why yes, I have been watching too much Dr Who lately).

Leave a Reply

