I Reached An Author Milestone Today!

This week has been such a nice breather after last week’s Blog Take Over. If you missed it last week, Monday was BAD YETI by Carrie Harris, Wednesday was THE BIG SMOKE by Cally Jackson, Friday and Sunday were EARTH TONES by Angela Wallace, and Saturday was NEW PRIDE by Laura Diamond. And there is more exciting goodness coming up soon!

But now, my news: I received my first rejection today! At first it was a bit of a punch to the gut, but what a huge milestone to reach! And hey, the agent didn’t say “this sucks, re-write it all AGAIN”, so that’s good. I am a little bummed, because I would have really enjoyed working with this agent, but I have a couple others on my list to query soon.

First I have to finish these damn edits, of course. I’m nearly done – I have three or four scenes to completely re-write due to Loria, but then it’s just tightening up the writing a little bit near the end.

Aside from my huge milestone and the work that still needs to be done, the next three days are going to be insanely awesome. Tonight I have Adriana Ryan coming over for an editing party (read: drinking wine and talking shop for a few hours :P), tomorrow night I’m getting together with Laura Moss for dinner at the Glass Onion (my favorite), and Saturday is YALLFEST! I can’t wait to see some of my favorite authors again (Beth Revis and Kimberly Derting were so completely sweet last year) and get lots of books signed and hang out with a downtown full of authors and readers! It’s like Christmas, only better. Plus, there are so many good restaurants downtown. Mmmmmm….

I hope you have a fun-filled weekend Aledans, and if you’re in Charleston for YAllFest say “Hi” if you see me 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

15 thoughts on “I Reached An Author Milestone Today!”

  1. Congratulations on your first rejection! Hey, you’re doing something most writers don’t get anywhere near accomplishing. You’ve actually finished your book (mostly) and are sending it out. That takes huge huevos and I, for one, am very proud of you! There is a perfect agent out there for you, keep writing and they will come.

  2. Congratulations! It just means that wasn’t the right one for you. The important thing is that you don’t give up until you find that one. 🙂

    I have to tell you that I have a minor character called Loria in my finished ms. Great name!

  3. If you’re deducting writing expenses from your taxes (paper, toner, books in your field you use as research), then keep all rejection letters. They are proof to the IRS that you are trying to sell, rather than just spending time on a hobby.

    1. I had no idea about that. I wasn’t planning to deduct anything this year, but for next year I’ll definitely keep all the rejection letters. Thanks for letting me know, Mark 🙂

Leave a Reply

