Why do I love YA? The Community!

Ya’ll might have seen me squeeing around the internet about YALLFest lately, and you may have noticed that giant banner on my sidebar announcing Beth Revis‘ mega YA-giveaway. How do you enter? Click on the banner and it will take you to Beth’s blog for more details. There are tons of ways to enter, and one of them is to blog about why you love YA.

And do you know why I love YA? It’s not for the fun, quick reads. It’s not because I can get lost in the worlds and writing, or because I could connect with the characters when I was younger (and still can…let’s face it: I’m not really an adult yet ;P). It’s not even for the swoon-worthy love interests, because honestly I’m 30 and they’re usually 16-18, and that’s just kind of weird…

No, the reason I love YA is because of the community. I’ve met so many wonderful people through the YA community on Twitter, Google+ and blogging. Its brought me amazing friendships through critique auctions, Platform Building Campaigns, #myWANA, GUTGAA, and (most recently) YALLFest.

And you know what? Even thought NAMELESS isn’t YA, these authors have been super supportive. They cheered me on as I finished the last re-write (and are cheering me on again as I finish the current re-write). They commiserated with me when I was told to re-write it. They supported me when my heart decided to go insane and I didn’t know what was wrong, and they held my hand and encouraged me when I found out I have heart surgery looming in my future.

So yes, as much as I love the characters, the worlds, and the storylines of YA literature, it’s the community that makes me really love YA. It’s you guys. Because I seriously couldn’t have gotten through the past year without you. Love you, Aledans.

What’s your favorite part of YA?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

10 thoughts on “Why do I love YA? The Community!”

  1. I’ve noticed (from watching you…wait, that sounds stalker-y) what a welcoming group YA is. I have an idea for a YA book which I honestly want to write partly because it means being part of such a lovely community!

      1. Stalking? There must be a less creepy word for it… 🙂

        I’ve started it – then had to pause so I could finish edits for The Ruth Valley Missing. But I have grand plans of returning to it.

        I also love the enthusiasm of young readers – I gave an advance copy of my current book to a 15 year old and loved how excited she was!

        1. I’ve had zero young readers so far (good thing, since the end of NAMELESS is full of sex and violence), but I bet that would be an awesome feeling to have someone THAT excited to read my book ^_^

  2. Great post and I couldn’t agree with you more. I’ve only been blogging for a few months and the YA writing community has been SO welcoming and awesome. I’m really proud to be a part of it.

    1. I’ve been blogging for years now, but it wasn’t until I found the YA community that I found a blogging community and a writing community to be a part of. Like I said, they welcomed me in even though my current WIP isn’t YA 🙂

  3. YALLFest was awesome, and the YA community is the most awesome-est! But I’m not gonna lie, for me it’s totally the swoon-worthy boys – even if that does make me an old-lady creeeper. 🙂

    I’m glad to hear you now know what’s going on with your heart, even if it does mean scary surgery. Let me know if you need anything when you go in for the procedure.

  4. I like reading about teens because the adolescent mindset is infinitely fascinating to me. The way they interpret the world around them, the way they feel like all eyes are always on them, the way they can be little snots…fascinating, I tell you. 😀

Leave a Reply

