Yesterday The Stars Lined Up Just For Me.

A Supernova Factory, by the Smithsonian Institute.
A Supernova Factory, by the Smithsonian Institute.

Aledans, yesterday the stars lined up just for me. You’ve all seen me freaking out over this rewrite and final edits, and you’ve all seen me freaking out even more about my heart and the possible surgery I would have to schedule in the near future. Well, yesterday I went in to the new electrocardiologist to find out more about this possible surgery. Of course it took forever to be seen, so while I waited I worked on editing the final pages of The Nameless Warrior. And guess what?

For the second time this year, THE NAMELESS WARRIOR is finished! I’ll be sending the Crits for Water query tomorrow, and then participating in #pitchMAS on Twitter in hopes of snagging an interested agent. I’ll also be diving into my TBR pile hardcore, because I’ve put off so much reading to finish this book (again)! I’ve got DRY SPELL and EARTH TONES by Angela Wallace, NEW PRIDE by Laura Diamond, BAD HAIR DAY by Carrie Harris (I did read BAD YETI over an evening and it was awesome!), THE NIGHT CIRCUS by Erin Morgenstern, DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth, HALE MAREE by Misty Provencher, and a whole bunch of others waiting for me.

But that’s not the most exciting news. I met the new doctor, we went over all the results and he asked me a bunch of questions, and do you know what?

I DON’T NEED SURGERY!

Well, I probably don’t need surgery. He’s fairly certain it’s low blood pressure that’s causing the problems. Of course when I go into the doctor’s office my blood pressure is perfect because everyone gets higher blood pressure at the doctor’s office. I have to buy a blood pressure cuff and start checking it at home and whenever I feel my heart do funky things. He also wants me to up my sodium and potassium intake (I have a history of kidney disease in my family, so I’ve always kept my sodium levels very low). I can still have a cup of coffee in the morning and a couple glasses of wine at night, but I’m supposed to find a no-sugar sports drink for lunch (so no Gatorade/Powerade).

I go back in two months with my blood pressure numbers and new diet, and we’ll see if it’s helping. If it is, I don’t have to take any pills and I don’t have to have surgery.

Yesterday rocked my socks off. I’m going to spend the rest of the week barefoot!

I hope you had a wonderful two weeks while I was on hiatus, Aledans. Let me know if you’ve had any star-aligning moments I missed!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

19 thoughts on “Yesterday The Stars Lined Up Just For Me.”

  1. That is SUCH fabulous news!! I’m soooo glad it’s probably not heart-surgery-worthy stuff. Phew. And thank the stars you get to keep up the wine habit!!! 😛 (Also, I want to read Nameless!!!)

Leave a Reply

