Looking Back At 2012 – It Was A Hell Of A Year.

holidayparty
Oysters and wine at the office X-mas party (that sexy elf next to me is Hubs).

Wow, Aledans. The Holidays are officially over, and leave us staring down a new year. Last January I began these weekly Thursday updates because I knew it was going to be a busy, awesome year, and for Trina was I right. It was a crazy year. Crazy good, and crazy bad, but the good won out in the end. I finished re-writing NAMELESS in January, storylined the next two books, and then found out in June that I had to re-write NAMELESS again. I didn’t finish that re-write until the beginning of December. I was really trying to be done sooner, but, you know, GUTGAA broke my heart (warning: there’s a photo of a giant spider in that post!).

I’m really happy with the re-write, so I’m glad I got the feedback before I started querying. Right now it’s hanging out with the Crits for Water agent, and in a week I plan to start cold querying to see if I can hook any other agents. Then it’s time to move on and work on Apollo, who’s hanging out with Adriana Ryan so she can find all his weaknesses and pick him apart until he bleeds little words all over her floor. Because she’s awesome like that 🙂

While I wait for her to pummel my baby into a bloody mess I’m reading a ton. Right now I’m on THE NIGHT CIRCUS, which is so good it’s actually slowed me down because I don’t want to miss any part of it. I still need to finish A FEAST FOR CROWS, which I’ve been working on slowly all year. But first I’ll probably read HALE MAREE, DRY SPELL and EARTH TONES, NEW PRIDE, and DIVERGENT.

I also find myself owing Ryan a critique, since I never did type up last year’s critique (it’s ok, he ended up re-writing his book also). I also owe two other friends a critique. I’ll get Tyffani‘s finished first, since she’s on a deadline, and then work on the other two 🙂

I need to get back into yoga again, as well. I was doing it twice a week steadily until I broke my thumb this summer. Then I started up again just in time for my heart to go crazy and I stopped. I can definitely feel the difference after a few months of no yoga. I gotta fix that.

It was a hell of year, and next year’s going to be much the same, I think. Here’s hoping the scales next year also tip more in the direction of crazy good. You Aledans are awesome, and I’ll see you all again in the new year!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

11 thoughts on “Looking Back At 2012 – It Was A Hell Of A Year.”

  1. GUTGAA was an emotional roller coaster for sure! But I’m happy it happened because I got to meet you. 😀 I’ll be ever so gentle with Apollo, I promise! I know I already love the story; now we just have to make it shine. Clinking my glass to yours for a GREAT 2013!

  2. Yay! I’m glad you’re reading The Night Circus- everyone needs to experience the awesomesauce that is that book. Cheers to an awesome 2013 🙂

  3. The instant I read the word ‘yoga’ in your post, I sighed. I really miss yoga. I’m looking forward to getting back into it when I get my body back to myself! Some of the books on your TBR list are on mine too. Hoping I might get some reading in while breastfeeding – time will tell whether that’s wishful thinking! 🙂

    1. When I first started yoga I had a pregnant instructor. Talk about making me feel like an inflexible fool! She could still touch her toes over her round belly, and I couldn’t even get close >.<

      Good luck reading while doing anything with a baby (from what I hear!) 😉

Leave a Reply

