Getting To Know You: 2012

Best buds, Pike and Muskelung.
Best buds, Pike and Muskelung.

It’s been a while since we’ve done a Getting To Know You post here, so today’s question is going to be a cheerful one.

What was your favorite part of 2012?

Even if 2012 was a hard year for you, there had to have been something that you’ll remember fondly in those 365 days. For me, it was finding Adriana Ryan 🙂

I mean, sure, finishing Nameless twice was pretty damn awesome. Winning the Crits for Water contest and getting a request in GUTGAA were pretty cool too. YAllFest, and Aly coming to Key West with us for two weeks was some of the most fun I’ve ever had. But nothing compares to finding someone local who I click with on so many levels. I talk to Adriana almost every day, even if it’s only on Twitter or email. She’s the person I feel comfortable sending my horrible drunk poetry to for giggles. And she promised to write me a sequel to her book, because I loved the first one so much ❤

2012 was pretty awesome for me, and the best part was meeting such a great friend.

What about you? What was your favorite part of 2012?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

16 thoughts on “Getting To Know You: 2012”

  1. *Sniffles* Aw, shucks, is someone cutting onions in my office?! ((HUGS)) And I LOVE that you used Pike and Muskelung’s picture to represent our friendship, hehe! 😀 I’m so glad GUTGAA happened, even if it did cause scary heart things for you, because I met youuuu! Big smooochies!

  2. Hm, my favorite part was rediscovering my old manuscript of Dreamwalker because not only did I have a blast polishing it up to publish, but now I’m going to write two more books of it. 😀 Cheers!

  3. I would love to find a local critique partner that knows what I’m writing. i have a few friends who write, but they don’t read or write YA. I belong to a few writers groups, but I haven’t yet made a connection like you have. The groups are very helpful though. In 2012, I finished an entire MS that I was proud of, and started another. I’m trying to celebrate the smaller writing victories!

    1. That’s a great victory! Finishing is no small feat.

      I have a ton of great writer friends in the area (I used to be the NaNo ML, so I know a LOT of writers here), and I have my Asiagoans who are all manner of awesomesauce, but I clicked with Adriana so quickly and in so many different ways it was a pleasant surprise. I wish you luck finding your click soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

