Give Them A Chance To Say Yes

Aledans, let’s pause a moment and take a deep breath. 2013 has come in like a lion (does that mean it will go out like a lamb?). It’s only the 17th day of the year, and I’ve already been through the wringer. I’m already doubting my writing, doubting myself, doubting that I can get everything that I’ve promised done in the next month. I haven’t even properly started querying yet, and I’m already close to giving up on Nameless. It’s so daunting, and I honestly don’t think it will be the book that lands me a publishing contract. I think I have a much better chance with Apollo or Book of Souls. But I’m still going to try with Nameless, because of something Amalia Dillin tweeted last night.

Give them a chance to say yes!
Give them a chance to say yes!

Yeah, I’ve been a complete idiot for the past week. But yesterday, with this tweet and a few kind words from another friend, a weight that I didn’t think I was carrying around slipped from my shoulders. I slept through the night for the first time in several days. My heart didn’t flop around in my chest like a dying fish when I laid down (this happens almost every night since my heart went nuts in September).

So lets start over, 2013. I promise to work harder if you promise to be gentle. I’ve already stopped drinking wine on most weeknights and started yoga back up again. I’ve already cut hundreds of superfluous words from Nameless. And tomorrow I’ll be over at Ask Daphne for the first About My Query of the year. I’ll get some professional feedback from an agent on my query, and perhaps feel a little bit better about starting the process I’ve been putting off for weeks now.

I’m glad I put it off for a few weeks, actually, because last week I found several agents who have suddenly jumped on the New Adult bandwagon. All of them rep Adult Fantasy, all of them rep YA, and now they rep New Adult as well. That’s pretty good news for me! It’s time to give them a chance to say yes.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

18 thoughts on “Give Them A Chance To Say Yes”

  1. Self defeatism is something I’m a nightmare for. I’m forever ripping myself apart before I even have a chance to really try. It’s a horrible thing to do and you’re far too good a person to allow yourself to slip into it. Sure it’s hard sometimes but positive thoughts, good vents (yoga, Thai Chi, meditation etc) will help you really get there. I’m glad you’re back on a better path now and think of it this way – everyone has to go through the wringer, we all have our fair share of darkness to endure. You’ve got it out of the way now, so you’re free to have a fantastic year!

  2. I’m glad that my tweet gave you this much encouragement!! Definitely, as authors, it is so easy to stand in our own way, but there’s plenty enough other people who will stand in the way for us that there’s no reason we should be doing it to ourselves! ha.

    Query! You never know when someone is going to love what you’ve written and sweep you away on the adventure of publishing!!

  3. We all have those moments of self-doubt. Keep going! When I face disappointment and start to have thoughts about giving up, I tell myself that perhaps now is not my time. But my time is coming, and I’m going to be first in line when it finally gets here.

  4. Good luck on querying! I didn’t query much last year either (though I got some partial requests through contests), for similar reasons. The reason one agent (or contest judge) has for rejecting something might not even be an issue to someone else.

Leave a Reply

