I Gave Them A Chance, and They Said Yes!

Boudin gives everyone a chance to say yes! Be his new best friend!
Boudin gives everyone a chance to say yes! (And he was a little jealous Hops got her own post last weekend.)

Happy Friday Eve, Aledans! Saturday is the Festival of Aleda (otherwise known as Imbolc or Groundhog Day) so I plan to put up a Fie Eoin Friday tomorrow to celebrate. Maybe the full horse scene? That happens the day after the Festival, and we’ve already seen a sneak peak. Or maybe a cut Loria scene, since she doesn’t make it to the Festival anymore. I guess it will be a surprise tomorrow *grins*

After two weeks of big talk regarding queries, I finally did it. I finally sent a query out! I kept struggling to re-write the query with my flu-brain, so I didn’t quite make my Monday deadline. I re-wrote it a few times on Monday, sent it to my critters, and got a whole bunch of “this is good, but…” so I re-wrote it again on Tuesday morning. And it flowed. It was the easiest draft of a query I’ve ever written, and when I sent it to my critters they all said “YES!!!” with many caps and exclamations 😀 Can’t beat that, so I pulled up my big girl panties and sent the query off to my dream agent (no, I’m not telling who ;P), fully expecting to wait a couple weeks and get a no.

A half hour later I got a partial request! A HALF HOUR. I couldn’t believe it. I’m so glad I took Amalia Dillin’s advice and gave them a chance to say yes.

So I sent off my partial and now I’m getting the info ready for the other agents I’m going to query so I can send off a few more. No putting all your eggs in one basket, right?

I also got Apollo back from Adriana, and it’s nice and bloody as expected. She picked out the weak spots, so once I get some critiquing done that I’ve promised my friends I’ll be diving into the re-write. You can expect “Fie Eoin Fridays” to become “Apollo and Daphne Fridays” for a while 🙂

I’m still suffering from a lingering flu cough, so I haven’t been able to do yoga in two weeks, but I’ve been pretty successful at cutting down on the wine. I also finally bought a blood pressure cuff so I can take my blood pressure at home like the doctor asked. And he was right: LOW. Low low low! I can’t get my blood pressure above 100/70 to save my life (120/80 is normal), and it’s usually somewhere around 90/60. I even ate half a box of salty cheddar bunnies and drank a few glasses of wine last night and I still couldn’t get it above 100/70. I need more salt, more fat, and more alcohol, apparently 😉

Have a wonderful Festival of Aleda this weekend, and I hope to see you back here tomorrow for a little taste of The Nameless Warrior.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

12 thoughts on “I Gave Them A Chance, and They Said Yes!”

  1. Wow! Congratulations! I hope all goes well. 🙂 With your heart, too–just read about your hernia. That sounds awful. But with that fixed, hopefully other problems will be fixed too!

Leave a Reply

