The Wrong Kind Of Wonderland

It’s time for another “Health Adventures with Becka”! I know, Aledans, I’m getting sick of the health adventures too. You turn thirty and suddenly your body is the wrong kind of wonderland.

I’ve still got this horrible cough left over from the flu three weeks ago, and while I was getting an adjustment at the chiropractor on Tuesday I had a coughing fit. Which apparently made a light bulb go off in his head, and he said he was going to check for something. He started pressing around my stomach just beneath my ribs, and it turns out I had a hiatal hernia, which is when your stomach slips above your diaphragm. It can cause all sorts of weird symptoms that can’t be diagnosed (even heart issues, since it’s pushing up into your heart/lung region). Hmmmm, interesting. So he pushed it back down where it belongs, which felt really strange, and sent me on my merry way. And guess whose blood pressure has been a little higher since then? And guess who hasn’t had heart palpitations since then? (And guess whose dog jumped on her stomach this morning and probably gave her another hernia?)

So we’ll see what happens with that. If my heart problem was that my stomach was trying to take over my chest cavity, well, I won’t know whether to laugh or cry. Probably laugh, because what else are you going to do when you hear something so ridiculous? I went to the cardiologist the next day and got a passing grade (despite the low blood pressure) so I don’t have to go back for another year unless I have another crazy episode in my heart. And if I do have another crazy episode, the first thing I’m checking for is a hernia.

In other news, I finished the final read-through! I even got a little teary in one scene, which I totally didn’t expect. And I still really like the changes I made in the re-write, so it’s time to really start querying. I’ve been testing the waters a little, getting some feedback (mostly no, but you gotta smile when you get a request!), and now it’s time to go full-speed ahead.

It’s also time to start working on Apollo. I’m going to do some beta reading while I work out the changes that need to be made, and I plan to start re-writing Apollo by March at the latest. I hope to have the re-write done by the end of May (I wrote the first draft during NaNo, so I figure two months should be enough – it’s not nearly as long as Nameless). Then spend the summer editing, and start querying in the fall. If nothing’s come of Nameless by then I’ll start working on Book of Souls.

Here’s hoping I won’t have yet another adventure in health next week. Have a wonderful weekend, Aledans!

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

13 thoughts on “The Wrong Kind Of Wonderland”

  1. Laugh or cry…I’d do both. Last fall I suffered a migraine for 6 straight weeks. It wouldn’t go away, and I took so much Advil that my body started having allergic reactions to it. When I finally found out the cause? My nightguard. Ironically, the nightguard was supposed to help with teeth grinding to *prevent* headaches.
    On the bright side, I really hope that was the cause of all your problems and can be easily fixed, as long as the dog stops jumping on you. 😉
    Good luck with the queries!

    1. Oh man! That would be so rough. I’ve only had a migraine once and it lasted four hours and I thought I was dying. There’s no way I would last for weeks.

      The dog won’t stop jumping, but I’ll keep having the chiro check it and put it back in place if it moves again 😉 And thank you!

  2. WHaT? That is so weird. I didn’t realize that there was a big enough gap in the diaphram for the stomach to start sneaking in, but now that I look at the figure in the link I guess it makes sense. Ugg. That kind of stuff is absolutely fasinating and disturbing at the same time.
    Umm…May the odds ever be in your favor for that NOT happening again? At least life is keeping it interesting for you.

  3. That’s weird. I’ve heard of that. I’m so glad your doctor figured it out and it was the lesser of the two evils. You’ll have to be careful around your overzealous puppy. We don’t want mommy to go down that road again. Exciting that you are at the query stage with the one. It’s only a matter of time now. Yay! You have so many irons in the fire. Can’t wait to hear about the progress on all of them as they move forward.

  4. Whoa, that’s so freaky weird and cool at the same time. I kind of hope it was just your stomach in the wrong place because then your heart is fine. Glad to hear you got an A+ from the doctor and super glad that you’re done with the final read-through!

    1. I really hope so too (heart/stomach wise). I sent the final version to my betas to *read* and not so much tear apart (although, if they tear apart I will fix it, obviously :P) so hopefully they love it as much as I do 🙂

      I think I’m my own worst enemy at this point 😉

      1. I know exactly what you mean. It’s never easy to step away and let our babies fly on their own. We always want to make one more fix, one teeny tweak, etc. I hope your betas love it as much as you do, too.

Leave a Reply

