And Then I Was Attacked By Five Deer

Hops and Boudin.
Hops and Boudin.

Hello Aledans! This is going up late today because I’ve been researching agents and sending out queries between the craziness at work (because what else do you do when you get another rejection? Cry? I don’t think so). I’ve had a pretty busy week so far, which was only compounded by the fact that my sister spent the past five days in Key West. I bought this dress (in blue) and drank margaritas out of jealousy.

Then I was attacked by five deer.

No, really. I was almost stampeded-over by five deer. I let the dogs out to pee on Tuesday night, and on their way to the fence they got distracted and started chasing something that looked like a big dog. Then a few more passed by and I saw they were deer. Then five more tried to run past, saw the dogs, and turned to run towards ME instead! I screamed and they turned back. One of them slammed into the fence and then jumped it into the backyard, then jumped out the other side (after breaking a terra cotta pot and running through a giant azalea). The dogs chased them to the end of the park and came back.

Last night poor Boudin was depressed because there were no deer to chase. He didn’t even want to eat his deer antlers because he was so sad. I told him I’m pretty sure the deer won’t be back anytime soon, then took him for a nice long walk so he could sniff the deer tracks.

In other news, I finished STONEHENGE at midnight last night. It was so good. So Good. All of the characters that I loved at the beginning turned out to be bat-shit crazy assholes by the end (except the MC), and I wanted them all to die. I won’t tell you if they did or not, but if you know anything about me and the words “so good” I’m sure you can guess. Now I’ve moved on to SONGS OF THE EARTH by Elspeth Cooper and I’m already enjoying it.

I’m also storylining some Daphne and Psyche backstory, because one of Adriana’s huge flags on APOLLO was the fact that Daphne isn’t very sympathetic. Part of me thinks this is a good thing, since, well, if you know the myth you know why. The other part realizes this is bad, because it doesn’t give Apollo much of a reason to pursue her (other than teenage boy hormones). She also pointed out that the Daphne/Psyche conflict wasn’t deep enough. These girls really hate each other, but there isn’t a good enough reason why. So now I’m figuring out why (while still adhering to the Psyche/Eros mythology – I love this type of challenge).

This weekend I’ll be finishing up the vet’s website, which will be a huge load off my shoulders. I’m halfway done with one promised critique, which will leave two more, and then I’ll start re-writing APOLLO. I’m so excited to be writing again, rather than editing!

What about you, Aledans? What are you excited about this week?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

7 thoughts on “And Then I Was Attacked By Five Deer”

  1. I’m so sorry to hear Boudin was sad. Such a bummer those deer showed up to tease him like that. It wasn’t very nice of them.

    “I finished STONEHENGE at midnight last night. It was so good. So Good. All of the characters that I loved at the beginning turned out to be bat-shit crazy assholes by the end (except the MC), and I wanted them all to die.” – This had me totally cracking up. If I had been sipping my water I would have spit it all over my computer. Too funny. Don’t you love it when our characters turn out completely different than we think they will. They can be so stubborn in their evolution.

    As for me, I am looking forward to more writing (which I am going to start right after I hit the “post” button) and some editing in my near future. Yay! I’m so glad to see you keeping a positive attitude about the query process. Keep on keeping on.

    1. Poor Bou wouldn’t go to bed last night cause he wanted to go chase deer again. He kept laying down on the bed, then pacing between rooms, then laying on the couch, pacing, bed, pacing, couch…. on and on for an hour. I finally had to command him to get in his bed so I could get some sleep 😛

      And I figure a sour mood about the query process will get me just as many no’s as a good mood, so I might as well be happy 🙂

  2. How did I miss this post? Oh, yeah, last week socked it to me with stuff. I can’t believe that happened to you–I’m so glad they didn’t trample you! Scary. You know Boudin will be looking for them fo, well, forever.
    Your description of how you felt about the STONEHENGE characters cracked me up. Also, I’m not sure I need another book on my TBR pile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

