Fie Eoin Friday: Apollo and Daphne

Apollo and Daphne, Gian Lorenzo Bernini
Apollo and Daphne, Gian Lorenzo Bernini

Happy Friday, Aledans! Or maybe I should start calling you Olympians, since that’s what my next novel is about?

I don’t really feel like talking about last week anymore than I already have on Twitter, so we skipped yesterday’s update. Instead I finally went out for Adult Milkshakes with Adriana Ryan (and have I told you how much I love her? Oh, I have? Let me tell you again. She’s awesome!) and with her help I finally overcame a huge roadblock to the re-write of Apollo. We’ve seen Poe a couple times before, in the Lucky Seven Meme and the Warm Fuzzies Blogfest. And to get into the spirit of re-writing Apollo I’m making today’s FEF all about my favorite boy.

Um, no, not Gar or Monk or Lane. They’re men 😉

~~~~~

The air around Apollo was thick with unspoken questions, and it was Artemis who addressed it first.

“Alright, let’s just lance this thing and clean up the mess. What did Eros tell you?”

“Nothing,” Athena said, looking relieved. “He left as soon as you did. I think he was afraid Apollo was going to come back and punch him.”

“I wish,” Daphne said. “It would have been worth it to watch someone shut him up.”

Apollo kept his eyes straight ahead, not able to look at anyone. He was glad that Artemis agreed to tell them about Hyacinth, because he couldn’t do it himself without crying.

“Ok.” Artemis took a deep breath. “Did you see the news report about the girl at Capitol who was hit with a discus last year?”

“Oh, ow,” Dion said without thinking. Everyone except Apollo turned and glared at him and he blushed. “Sorry.”

“Was she okay?” Daphne asked, although it was clear from her voice that she already knew the answer.

“It hit her in the temple – she died on impact.” Artemis squeezed Apollo’s hand. “Poe threw the discus. It was a complete accident – she shouldn’t have run onto the field until his turn was over.”

“That was the girl on the cross country team, right?” Nike asked. “The really fast petite one?”

Artemis nodded, and Nike reached over to pat Apollo’s shoulder. “Now I know why you freaked out when I asked about her. Sorry, man.”

“Did you know her?” Daphne asked.

“She was my girlfriend,” Apollo whispered and looked at the bleachers below them.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

4 thoughts on “Fie Eoin Friday: Apollo and Daphne”

  1. YAY Apollo! 😀 I ❤ him. And yes, everyone, this story is just as amazing as it sounds from the excerpt. 🙂 (And hooooraaayyy for our writer date–it was so much fun!! I ❤ you, pony Nazi. :P)

Leave a Reply

