April is a Bitch, and so is Daphne.

Bou's got the right idea. Sleep through April.
Bou’s got the right idea. Sleep through April.

Aledans, I’m sure if you’ve seen me around the internet at all this week you know April and I have nearly come to blows. If you haven’t seen me around the internet at all this week it’s because April and I have nearly come to blows. Let’s agree that April Fool’s Day should never fall on a Monday again. It’s just not fair (hear that calendar-makers? Act accordingly).

Camp NaNo started out a miserable failure, until I realized I was trying to do something completely unnecessary. Nameless needed so many complete re-writes that I assumed Apollo would too. I’ve read through it a number of times and Sandhya (ie. Adriana Ryan, who has unveiled herself to the world!) read through it, and you know what? I think it just needs a fairly big edit. I don’t think everything has to be scraped and re-written.

There are some really, really good parts already, and I learned a lot about writing before I wrote the first draft. In this draft I have to cut some scenes, tighten some others, punch up the tension, and make Daphne more sympathetic. That last one is the part I’m still having troubles with, but I started writing the scene where Daphne meets Apollo from her POV, and it’s helping me get into her head and figure out why she is the way she is. Because I know she comes across as a bit of a bitch. And he falls in love with her despite that.

In fact, since today is technically Fie Eoin Friday why don’t I give you a little taste? It’s not the full scene, and it’s not edited because it’s not actually going to be part of the book, but have some Daphne:

~~~~~

Senior Year. Daphne couldn’t wait to get out of the hell-hole that was Olympia High School and across the country to NYU. Assuming they accepted her, of course. Even if they didn’t she planned to jump ship and move as far away as possible. She was over the cliques, the constant supervision, and most of all the asshole boys.

Speaking of asshole boys, Homeroom was suddenly inundated with the King of the Douchebags—Eros Phanes. Daphne was really hoping she wouldn’t have to see his fat face this year.

“Far-shooter!” He yelled, but for once his taunting voice wasn’t directed at her. “Did you get lost on the way to school this morning, Shooter? You belong at Capital.”

A tall, handsome boy in the front row cringed. He had short, dark hair just beginning to curl at the ends like it needed to be cut, and clothes that were a little worn around the hems. Clean and pressed, but worn. Daphne was pretty sure he was on the cross country team with her and won last weekend’s match against Capital.

Whoever he was, he’d incurred Eros’ wrath, which automatically made him her ally.

“I’m not lost,” the boy said. “I transferred.” His voice was a nice, even baritone.

Eros sat in the desk next to him. “Finally got sick of those loser Cougars, huh? Decided to be a Bear?”

The boy ignored Eros, but his hands folded into fists as if he couldn’t wait to punch that chubby face. Daphne liked him already.

“So what’s with the move, Shooter?”

The boy’s whole body seemed to tense, and Daphne walked over—she was better prepared to deal with Eros than this new kid.

She dropped her books on Eros’ desk with a loud bang. “You’re in my seat.”

He looked up, surprised. “I don’t see your name on it.”

She leaned into his face and scowled. “Out. Now.”

His jaw set and he sneered, but stood. She stared at him as he moved a row back and sat behind the new kid. She jerked her head a tiny bit—a warning. Whoever this new kid was, woe be to Eros if he tried to hurt him. If Daphne could help it Eros wouldn’t hurt anyone ever again.

~~~~~

Of course Eros does hurt them both, again and again.

Have a good weekend, Aledans. And if you feel the need to throw down the gauntlet with April give me a call: I’ll be your backup.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

4 thoughts on “April is a Bitch, and so is Daphne.”

  1. Bahaha! Love the title. 😀 I hope you had a better night after you got home. ((hugs)) Nick says that Bou’s cuter than a marshmallow (high praise from a five-year-old!). 😀 And I LOVE Apollo! He’s awesomesauce (reminds me a bit of Jacob Black from Twilight for some reason, but less wolfy, obvs). The scene from Daphne’s POV was insightful. Maybe you could coax her to show her vulnerability a little more.

    1. I drank a LOT of wine and watched Dr Who all night when I got home, so I’m feeling much better today 🙂 In fact, I took that photo of Bou last night during the Who marathon. Hopefully Nick will get to meet Bou next week!

      I’m trying to coax her, but she’s very unwilling to show vulnerability. It’ll come out though – she’s not even close to Rebecca levels of bitchiness, and if Rebecca can be a sympathetic character then Daphne can too, dammit. I just have to get to know her better 🙂

Leave a Reply

