I’ll Be Joining #WriteMotivation Next Month.

My brand new - blooming! - wisteria plant.
My brand new – blooming! – wisteria plant.

It’s been quite the couple weeks, hasn’t it Aledans? I didn’t feel like posting an update last week because there wasn’t a whole lot to talk about. I didn’t get any work on Apollo done because I was glued to the news like just about everyone else. This week has been much kinder, until I found out it’s going to cost almost a grand to fix the lawn that TruGreen killed. If you’re thinking of using a lawn service in the future stay very, VERY far away from TruGreen.

I’ve been working in the yard a lot on the weekends, and I’ve been crazy busy at work, so I haven’t been online much lately. Hubs and I tamed one giant azalea and hacked back the other to make a space for the oak tree that was growing out of the backside (and hacked a second oak tree out of the middle of that giant azalea). That took all weekend (they are seriously as big as a small room), and then last weekend we put together the most annoying composter ever – without wanting to kill each other!

My wisteria also arrived last weekend, and it was blooming! It’s so pretty, and it makes me smile every time I look at it.

In Camp NaNo news, I’m way behind. On the hand-written edits I’m about 35% finished, but I’ve only typed up about 10% of them. Instead I’ve been carrying around a quarter of the book in my purse, just waiting for a chance to transcribe everything. It’s supposed to rain all weekend though, so I should have some time to type. I definitely won’t finish by the end of April as I’d hoped. This month has just been too crappy for that.

I’ll be joining #WriteMotivation next month to complete Apollo’s edits and finish all the critiques I’ve promised. I also need to re-write my query based on feedback by Lauren Spieller (she gives amazing feedback by the way – I won a critique on Twitter, but I’d seriously consider hiring her to look at future queries). So Thursdays throughout May will be #WriteMotivation update days. For now my goals look like this:

1. Finish first round of Apollo edits.

2. Finish critiques for Ryan and Lindsay.

3. Start critique for Tyffani.

4. Re-write NAMELESS query (if I haven’t already), and write APOLLO query/synopsis.

Feel free to brandish the whip if I’m not getting things done, Aledans. What are your goals for next month?

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

6 thoughts on “I’ll Be Joining #WriteMotivation Next Month.”

  1. You have been a busy little bee! Sorry about the TruGreen fiasco–uggghh. Shouldn’t they fix it if they wrecked it, though?? Yay for 35% of edits being completed–transcription is important, but less so. 🙂 Hugs to you!!

  2. Sorry I haven’t been by in a while. My uncle used to use TruGreen once or twice a year and I always wondered about that stuff. Thanks for the heads up. So sorry to hear about your situation, though. It doesn’t sound like fun. I despise extra work. I hope the time schedule works out better so that you get the edits and writing done this next month. I know how satisfying that feels. I may consider joining #WriteMotivation. Another friend of mine has mentioned it before. Either way, I’ll be cheering you on.

    1. #WriteMotivation is really fun – I did it last summer and it helped so much!

      No worries about not stopping by in a while – I’ve been so slack at getting to people’s blogs lately. April’s almost over, so here’s to May being less crazy!

Leave a Reply

