#WriteMotivation Goals and a Call for Apollo Critters!

Boudin is so happy it's May!
Boudin is so happy it’s May!

Dear Aledans: it’s MAY! Finally that horrible month known as April is over, and it’s the wonderful month of Trina’s Day, Vacation, and my (7th) Anniversary! (Although Hubs and I have been together for almost thirteen years now)

Camp NaNo didn’t go as well as I had planned, but it wasn’t a total bust. I’ve edited more than half of Apollo and Daphne, but I haven’t had time to type up most of those edits. I still feel like there’s something huge I’m missing, but I guess all the problems will be revealed when I send it to my critters (hopefully before vacation on the 17th). If you know your mythology inside and out and want to critique Apollo let me know – I have some “I know nothing about mythology” critters already but I need a couple more “I know my myths like the back of my hand” critters.

I’ve re-worked my query for Nameless to try to get into the Query Kombat Brackets on May 13th, and once Apollo is finished I’m going to go through the first 50 pages of Nameless again to see what needs to happen. It seems that’s where I’m losing agent interest, and I think I know exactly where it’s happening. Even Kindra says “will this night never end?” – that should have tipped me off right away.

Hubs and I have been slogging through the beginning of Martha on Dr Who. I love Martha as a companion, but all of her episodes before “Human Nature” suck. From then on she has one of my favorite seasons, but getting to that point with her is painful and boring.

I’ve also been slogging through A Feast for Crows – again, painful and boring 😉

On the #WriteMotivation front, here’s my list again:

1. Finish first round of Apollo edits.

2. Finish critiques for Ryan and Lindsay.

3. Start critique for Tyffani.

4. Re-write NAMELESS query, and write APOLLO query/synopsis.

And #4 is already halfway done! Laura still has a couple tweaks on the query that she’ll email me about this weekend, but that sucker is just about as good as it’s ever going to get.

Trina’s Day is on Sunday, so I’ll be putting up a special, sexy Fie Eoin Friday tomorrow. I just have to decide which one. Go back in time to Kindra’s first Trina’s Day with Gar? Or maybe some sexy Faye-action with Kaye and Bryant? Or I could go way back in time to Fennec and Loria, although that might give away spoilers about the High Priestess…

I hope you have a happy May, Aledans. Don’t forget to celebrate the Feast of Lovers on Sunday and I hope to see you back here tomorrow for FEF 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

14 thoughts on “#WriteMotivation Goals and a Call for Apollo Critters!”

  1. I signed up for #writemotivation, too. Maybe it’ll help me get through this. 🙂 Also, I fall into the “kinda, sorta knows the myths” category so I don’t think I’d be any help. Good luck on the goals! We can do this! Now, to fix the major problems with WS. I might be shooting you an email for brainstorming help. 🙂

  2. Haha…your last paragraph reminds me when Nameless was in its infancy and there was absolutely nothing sexual going on (it was all very G), so I wrote that fan fic prequel after one Thursday night of finishing off some wine with you (Thursday nights at GVSU our senior year were sooo much fun!) so that Kindra and Gar could get it on. That was so much fun!

    1. Between you writing that fic and my mom saying “it needs sex” how could I resist? Plus, those are my favorite scenes to write (and re-write, and edit, and day-dream about…) now 😉

      And yes! Thusdays at GV with you were so much fun 🙂 I’m pretty sure I finished writing FE on a Thursday (it was right after the final episode of Friends).

  3. Man, I USED to know my mythology (although, to be honest, I knew the Roman side better than the Greek) like mad, but I haven’t accessed that part of my brain in ages.

    Also, I get what you are saying about Doctor Who (although the little man’s favorite episode is Martha’s first…I think he likes the Judoon. 🙂 )

    1. Roman and Greek are the same myths for the most part, they just re-named everyone (except Apollo, because he’s THAT awesome ;)). And I bet if I was a little boy I’d love the Judoon also! But instead I found them kind of silly.

  4. I feel you on the 50 pages thing. Most of the requests I’ve had have been partials of 50 pages and I think there’s something past the first 3 chapters that needs help. So hard to know whether things are down to timing or taste or what… ahh, the joy of querying! Good luck in Query Kombat, and I agree about Martha. Just wish I could get my husband to watch DW with me!

    1. I agree – it’s so hard to figure out why I keep getting no’s. I know the query and first page are solid, but somewhere after that I’m losing agents and I need to figure out where.

      It took me forever to get Hubs to watch Who with me! He watched Nine’s season and liked it, watched Rose’s season with Ten and liked that. Then he saw a couple of Eleven episodes (or rather, he saw River Song ;)) and decided he’d keep watching. It was a long year and a half process!

      1. You’ve given me hope for the future! The day I met my husband, I told him he reminded me of David Tennant. His reply: “Who’s that?” Mine: “Exactly.” Except my husband is also Scottish and not born in a cave, so I don’t know how he missed it… but I think he’s stayed away from watching it with me for that very reason 😉 Oops…

        1. lol, oops indeed! Start with one of the episodes that don’t need to much backstory to hook him, maybe? I started Hubs on the “are you my mummy” episodes and it was just creepy enough to hook him. A year later he saw Blink and loved it. Then he was willing to watch some of the others 🙂

Leave a Reply

