My Terrifying, Exhausting Week, and a #WriteMotivation Update.

http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/ NOAA Photo Library
http://www.photolib.noaa.gov/ NOAA Photo Library

*Collapses in a heap on the floor*

For Trina, it’s been a rough week, Aledans. Hubs has been in NYC for a conference all week, which means I’ve been going to bed somewhere between 1:30-2am for the past four nights. Then Weds night we had the scariest storm I’ve ever lived through. You might have seen me flinging expletives on Twitter over it. A tornado was spotted a mile and a half from my house, so I tried to herd two big dogs and two cats (one of whom hates the dogs) into a tiny bathroom while hail the size of my thumb rained down on the house so loud I couldn’t hear the meteorologist tracking the tornado. The neighborhood roads flooded, but my house didn’t, and the third cat who was stuck outside during the storm came home safe and sound, if wet and hungry. Thank Aleda.

Of course last night when I went to SK Falls’ house the sky opened again and let the demons out. About ten minutes after I got to her house the power went out, and about ten minutes before I left (a number of hours later) the power came back on. So we drank margaritas and talked writing by candlelight. It would have been romantic if we were dating 😉

We’ve finally reached Friday and Hubs will be home this evening, so I’ll finally get a decent amount of sleep. Unfortunately the craziness of the week kept me from being terribly productive, as far as #WriteMotivation goes. Here’s my list:

1. Type up all Apollo edits. (I’m still on Chapter 4)

2. Finish Ryan’s Critique. (Done! Just have to type them up.)

3. Write Apolly query/synopsis. (I’ve mapped out the story for the synopsis)

4. Tyffani’s Critique. (Haven’t started)

5. FRAH Website Finished. (Just need to switch the domain to the new site, which I’m waiting on the vet to do because the domain people won’t talk to me)

I won’t be signing up for #WriteMotivation in July because I’m not sure yet what the month has in store for me as far as work and travel, but I’ll still be working on my goals and updating like normal.

You may have also noticed my utter fail at Science Tuesday this week, but no worries! I’ll tack this week’s science news onto next week’s post 🙂

Have a great weekend, Aledans, and I’ll see you on Sunday for a really funky custom pony. I think you’re going to like it.

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

12 thoughts on “My Terrifying, Exhausting Week, and a #WriteMotivation Update.”

  1. I’m so glad you’re safe! Crazy how I was only about 35 minutes away and got NONE of that! Bahahaha–thank you for a most romantic girl’s night! 😉

  2. I’ve been out of town all week, and reading this I’m super glad since I missed the storm. I have terrible nightmares about tornadoes, so when they are spotted in the area I’m a basket case. Glad you and all the pets are okay!

  3. I was fine until I read your week’s highlights. Now I am exhausted. Uncle Mike used to travel 5 days a week. I didn’t like it at first, but then I got used
    to it. He refused to travel after Jen was born. Then it took me 2 years to get used to having him home every night. I happen to love storms. Sorry you had to endure them by yourself. I do hope that we get some sort of summer between now and October! Take care now! Love, Aunt Jo

    1. Jordan used to travel more, so I used to be the same way with him being home. With the new job he doesn’t travel more than one or two nights a week anymore and I’m not used to him being gone all week.

      A normal storm is fine, but these were crazy! And no worries on summer – we’ve already had as much as Michigan gets, and it’ll last until November 😉

Leave a Reply

