Back from the Hiatus (and an emergency kitten)

Happy Tuesday, Aledans! This week we’re switching Science Tuesday and Update Thursday because I have three weeks worth of science emails to get through. Thursday’s going to be a quick and dirty headlines-only version of Science Tuesday, so be prepared.

As you saw on Sunday, I’m officially back from my internet hiatus. Not that I stayed offline for that entire period – I did check Twitter and G+ nearly every day, but I didn’t feel the need to reply or RT every little thing that I found interesting, which was kind of nice. It’s exhausting to feel like you need to keep on top of what everyone else is doing.

Basically this entire year has been exhausting. I’ve had a rough six months, and a large part of that has been query rejections. Or worse, the no-response (even from agents who say they respond). The first query I sent out was the only one to get a positive reply, and six months of hearing only “no” is really wearing on me. I know Nameless isn’t high concept, and I’m starting to feel like that might be the issue. Apollo isn’t high concept either, which puts my interest level in finishing the edit transcription at about negative eleventy-thousand. Book of Souls is high concept, but I honestly just want to work on Pike’s Revenge and FE3 (and Sipi’s novella, and Ian’s prequel). When I’m in a writerly funk I just want to go home, and Fie Eoin is home to me.

I spent the last couple weeks in Fie Eoin, re-storylining Sipi’s novella and finally storylining the continuation of Aleda’s Story. I had to change some things in the original, so I’ll be taking it down and editing it so I can re-post it on the blog and then continue on with the Children of Mountain. I plan to put up the beginning of Aleda’s Story this Friday. That will last twelve weeks, and then I’ll start putting up the continuation of the story about the Changelings, called “Faye and Tarrin”. I know some of you have been waiting for over two years for the continuation, so I hope you enjoy it.

And now I’ll leave you with an emergency kitten that makes me laugh every time I see it:

 emergencykitten

See you Thursday 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

14 thoughts on “Back from the Hiatus (and an emergency kitten)”

  1. I am sorry to hear you have had such a rough year thus far. Katy and I were sick for the first 3 or 4 months but things are looking up for us in that dept. I did not realize that you were writing several books. Have you considered self publishing? I know that some folks go that route instead of a traditional publishing.

    1. I’ve considered it, but I’d really like to exhaust all my options first because a) I don’t have the funds to hire an editor and pay for cover art, and b) I REALLY want to see my book(s) on shelves at B&N someday. In the end I may self-publish Nameless and still try to get a publishing contract with another book (all the books I’ve currently written a first draft of are at the top of the page here).

  2. So glad to see you back! *Muah* Take your time figuring out the writing stuff…it’ll still be here in a few months when you decide to get back to it. Breaks are essential to us writerly types, I think. ((hugs)) (And I looove that kitten video, too! Have you seen the whole thing on YouTube? Hilarious!)

  3. Hang in there! Rejections are not fun, but they are proof that you’re being persistent. It doesn’t take the sting out completely, but I always say, “Congratulations!” for every rejection. You’re doing something that many people just dream about. ***HUGS***

    1. That’s true, but the congratulations don’t have the same cheerful “oomph” they used to 😉 But this is why I came to the blog with my “woe is me” – I knew you would all understand ❤

  4. Don’t let it discourage you. I know it’s a hard road, but even bestsellers got a lot of rejections when they started out. I don’t think it should matter if it’s high concept or not. And if it doesn’t get picked up by an agent, there are small publishers and self-publishing. 🙂 Everything is going to be okay. I say work on what makes you happy and see where it goes.

    1. All that rejection just wears on you after a while, you know? And with everything else that’s been happening in my personal life this year, it’s just got me in a funk right now. 2013 was supposed to be awesome. Where’s my awesome?! 🙂

  5. Harry Potter was rejected 12 times before it was picked up, and the first book or so was definitely not “high concept” (and I love the series, so no hating here). Your book just hasn’t found a publishing home. You need someone who will love it and want it to succeed, so it’s a good thing to weed out these uninterested parties. 😉 *hugs*

  6. I’m sorry 2013 has been so mean to you. I know the rejections hurt, but at least you’re putting yourself out there. I’m just a big ol’ chicken dragging this rewrite out for years. You’ll get there – you’re talented and you’ve got moxie! So it’s just a matter of finding the right person to read it at the right time.

    And the kitten is awesome!

    1. That kitten has made my life. It’s so adorable.

      Sometimes it feels like the planets have to align and I have to make the exact right number of sacrifices to sign with an agent 😉

Leave a Reply

