I Have a #WriteOnCon Hangover (and a #WriteMotivation Update)

wocLOGO_OrangeOk, I confess: I have a bit of a wine hangover as well. I stayed up late last night watching the WriteOnCon videos since I couldn’t watch them at work. Lots of good info there, especially the pitch sessions. Overall WOC was a pretty excellent time for me. I made a couple new friends (Hi @EpicEmmy and @RachelAnneMarks!), got some great feedback on NAMELESS and APOLLO (if you’re interested, you can read the first five pages of NAMELESS and APOLLO on the forums), and I was even Ninja-ed! Ninja Agent Stripes had good things to say about my NAMELESS query, so although I didn’t get a request I did get a big smile on my face 🙂

And to top it off, I got a partial request from the last #pitmad! Someone read the first ten pages of NAMELESS and wants to read more. Not bad after my freakout two weeks ago, huh?

I also realized it’s exactly one month until the #PonyFest13 announcement! It’s going to be huge this year – I have a whole cartload of books by pony people and Kalavista will be back to make the winning custom. I’m even going to have runner-up prizes this year. Stay tuned.

So, yeah, despite the fact that I had to walk through a lake this morning and my socks are wet (I hate wet socks *shudders*) I’m having a pretty damn good week. I even finished half of a #WriteMotivation goal:

1. Finish Transcribing Apollo Edits.

2. Write Apollo query/synopsis.

3. Edit Aleda’s Story and post it weekly (currently doing this!)

4. Begin writing Faye and Tarrin.

While it still needs major tweaking, the first draft of the Apollo query is done! The first drafts are always the most difficult for me, so I’m glad to have that out of the way. I also decided to re-write some of the scenes from Daphne’s POV, so transcribing the edits has been put on hold indefinitely. And, of course, the fourth installment of Aleda’s Story (a serialized NAMELESS prequel) will be up tomorrow morning. You can catch up on the first three installments here.

And as a last little bit of celebrating a good week: Happy Anniversary to my little sister and her husband!

Hubs and I at my sister's wedding.
Hubs and I at my sister’s wedding (four years ago!).
Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

10 thoughts on “I Have a #WriteOnCon Hangover (and a #WriteMotivation Update)”

  1. I’m going to visit your pages on WOC; I was over there critiquing and commenting on and off the past week. I read through some more of the articles today, haven’t seen any of the videos yet either, but it’s nice to be able to go back to t hem later.

    1. I love that they keep the videos up for a while. There’s so much going on at WOC and it’s all in the middle of the week, so I miss most of it.

      Thanks for critiquing my pages! Apollo, especially, needs some help.

  2. I’m glad this week turned around for you, and big congrats on the partial request!

    WriteOnCon is always awesome. Although for the second year in a row, none of my posts got any Ninja feedback, so I’m a bit disappointed. I’m trying to convince myself it’s because they didn’t get looked at, but the whispering voice keeps trying to convince me it’s because they couldn’t think of anything nice to say. Shut up, whispering voice!

    1. This is the first time I’ve been Ninja’ed, and I’ve participated every year, so don’t worry! They YA boards are especially hard to get noticed on because there’s just so many people posting. I had much more success on the NA board.

Leave a Reply

