Speak the Ocean, and a #WriteMotivation Update

Happy Thursday, Aledans! I managed to drag myself out of bed early again today to swim laps at the pool, and my new pants appreciate it. The tummy was starting to make them uncomfortable 😉 Swimming is definitely going on next month’s #WriteMotivation list of goals.

Speaking of goals, I started writing Faye and Tarrin yesterday! Which means I can cross off another August goal:

1. Finish Transcribing Apollo Edits (this is no longer a goal – now I need to re-write some scenes from Daphne’s POV)

2. Write Apollo query/synopsis (the first draft of the query is finished! The second draft is coming along nicely)

3. Edit Aleda’s Story and post it weekly (currently doing this!)

4. Begin writing Faye and Tarrin (BOOM! I started it yesterday)

It’s a really strange feeling to be writing something new again. I haven’t done that since Aleda’s Story a few years ago. Instead I’ve been editing and re-writing, and re-writing again, and editing some more, and then a couple more passes for edits, and re-writing this one part, then editing it, then…well, you get the idea. I haven’t felt the rush of a new story in a looooong time.

Speaking of new stories, the one I hinted at the other week is coming along nicely. I’m trying to decide if I’m going to write it for NaNo, or start in October. I still have some research to do (I need to get my map of Key West out 😉 ) and I need to finish Faye and Tarrin first so I can start posting that when Aleda’s Story is finished. But I have a name for the new story! I’m going to call it Speak the Ocean for now, and I’m already storylining parts of a sequel.

I’ve been so excited for StO that it’s making it hard to get back into Fie Eoin’s world to write Faye and Tarrin. It would help if I put on my FE soundtrack, but I bought Sara Bareilles new album this weekend, and I’m obsessed with it (especially “Cassiopia”). In fact, let’s close out the update post with a video that you can’t help but smile watching. It’s Sara Bareilles “Brave”.

Have an excellent weekend, Aledans. Be brave 🙂

Published by

Rebecca Enzor

Rebecca Enzor is a chemist in Charleston, SC who writes Young Adult and New Adult Fantasy and Magical Realism. Repped by Eric Smith of P.S. Literary.

5 thoughts on “Speak the Ocean, and a #WriteMotivation Update”

  1. I’m glad you’re so excited about your new idea. I have one that has been pulling and nagging at me for about two months now, making it especially hard to work on rewrites. I’m hoping I really can get the rewrite done ASAP, so I can start outlining and be ready with the new idea for NaNo.

Leave a Reply

